Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2013, 11:30 PM
Jared_TL Jared_TL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Greetings,
I was all excited to use Maschine inside of PT 11, but I cannot figure out how to get latency less than about 30ms (which is pretty much unusable). I have tried HDX, Native and Eleven Rack as audio engines - I have tried large and small HW Buffers... and they all seem to hover around that 30ms latency. To determine the latency, I bussed a machine drumkit (maschine instantiated on instrument track) to an audio track while simultaneously recording my fingers tapping away on another track... the maschine drums are pretty much 30ms behind my fingers hitting the pads (determined by looking at the delta between the transients on the respective tracks).
When I run maschine as a standalone application using HDX as the engine - 3ms - awesome! Now, how do I get that inside PT???
Anyone else out there with Maschine and any insight into latency?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2013, 01:34 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Have you tried record arming the instrument track with maschine on it? It will not record actual midi unless you have set maschine into controller mode, but it will allow maschine to use the low latency buffer. Works here. :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2013, 11:27 PM
Jared_TL Jared_TL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Ding ding!! Problem solved - thanks! Using my testing method, was able to verify latency down to 6ms @ HW Buffer of 64.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2013, 01:57 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Yep. Finally maschine is really usable as a plugin in protools now. Has never really been workable before because of the latency. Very happy here! :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2013, 04:12 AM
frabo frabo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Yes I agree!
But I need sometimes a way to route 4 Tracks into Maschine (Maschine as a vst host)! For example 1-2 with a pad sound and 3-4 with a trigger sound for the side chain of the compressor.
With Ableton, I have the choice of every output to route it into the Maschine track and select the input !
Any way to do this with protools ?

best,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2013, 04:41 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 796
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

I wonder about that ^ too. I can only access one track and that is the currently selected track or sound, which is a pain. It feels like it was not meant to be used that way and I don't want to program the events inside maschine if I don't have to.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:30 AM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 235
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Awesome tip!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2014, 03:32 PM
Franklyn Franklyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 233
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

yes the latency while playing the Pads works fine.

but i have the problem that the maschine click (plug in sequencer) has a delay with pro tools 11. it only works when i disable delay compesion in PT.
with delay compenson enable its not usable. there is always a delay between PT and Maschine.
any idea ?
Thanx for help.
Franklyn
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2014, 08:50 AM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: NI Maschine 2.0 AAX and latency

Has anyone found a solution to this?

I can get Maschine to run without latency when I turn delay compensation off... but then everything else is out of whack?>

thanks

s0nguy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maschine 2.0 is here WorldStudios AAX Plug-ins 8 11-04-2013 04:38 AM
Maschine Soul El Pro Tools 10 1 08-19-2013 03:46 PM
PT8 with NI Maschine...P.I.T.A! lifer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 17 01-18-2013 08:13 PM
Maschine Issue w/ PT 9.06 on OS X 10.6.8 CF Buck Virtual Instruments 1 03-22-2012 08:32 PM
NI Maschine Stig Eliassen Virtual Instruments 9 06-04-2011 02:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com