Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2019, 03:49 PM
mholley mholley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sonoma CA
Posts: 90
Default Having Issues Using Workspace To Audition Drum Loops

Happy Saturday,

As the title reads, I am getting strange error massages when using Workspace...any thoughts on how to correct?

Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/238950/ProTools/NewFileLibs/Sys/MacOS/Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp", line 147.


Thanks in advance,

Mark
__________________
Mac Mini, 16 gig Ram, OS X 10.14.4 - Mojave, Scarlett, PT 2019.5

Last edited by mholley; 05-18-2019 at 09:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2019, 05:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,949
Default Re: Having Issues Using Workspace To Audtion Drum Loops

It is a not uncommon error. You can Google the assert error message or key parts of it to see lots of similar reports in the past, and recently.

Start by trying to trash prefs. (use Peter Gates PT Prefs Tool http://petegates.com/pg-pt-prefs.html). If unsure trash everything.

If that is not it, in this case I'd suspect (=guess) file permission/ownership issues.We might get lucky and something might be obvious... run the following commands in Terminal.app. Copy and paste the text output here (no screen shots).

cd <directory where the loop files are>
ls -l * # just need a few lines showing some files that had problems.
id # who you are.

---

Are there any other problems happening?

Other things to try (after trashing prefs):

Test for this problem with a new empty session

Create a new macOS admin account, and try doing the same thing there with a new empty session.

---

A few recent reports of this, but folks doing different things.. will be interesting to see if this is a problem specific to 2019.5, or just the same old same-old.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-18-2019 at 05:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2019, 09:16 PM
mholley mholley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sonoma CA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Having Issues Using Workspace To Audtion Drum Loops

Thanks,

I’ll give it a go tomorrow and report back.

Appreciate your guidance,

Mark
__________________
Mac Mini, 16 gig Ram, OS X 10.14.4 - Mojave, Scarlett, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2019, 02:03 PM
mholley mholley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sonoma CA
Posts: 90
Default Re: Having Issues Using Workspace To Audition Drum Loops

Darryl,

It appears as though you solved this one. I used the Peter Gates tool to trash the preferences, and I was back in business.

I’ll keep my eyes open for any other issues, but for now, it seems that I am good to go with this.

Thanks again,

Mark
__________________
Mac Mini, 16 gig Ram, OS X 10.14.4 - Mojave, Scarlett, PT 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2019, 09:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,949
Default Re: Having Issues Using Workspace To Audition Drum Loops

Great, thanks for letting everybody know that worked for you. Hopefully that helps others who see this Assert error.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workspace loops Elastic analysis.. doubles loops Rectifried Pro Tools 11 1 04-03-2016 08:43 AM
Having trouble putting drum loops into the session from the Workspace window in Proto gibsy Pro Tools 11 1 12-17-2013 12:05 PM
Loops into workspace Lassebg Windows 6 02-17-2013 05:24 PM
Pro Tools 10 Pencil / Audtion issues BroomPole Post - Surround - Video 4 03-20-2012 08:01 PM
Multi Loops has the new Rock version 2 Out! (drum loops) Bloux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-23-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com