Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2019, 08:13 PM
xelsior xelsior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jersey
Posts: 12
Default My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

I have PT 12.2 on my macbook pro. I have High Sierra 10.13.6. I was able to open PT with no problem up to about 2 months ago. Now all of a sudden, it won't open at all. The PT icon just bounces up and down....forever. WTF is wrong???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2019, 08:43 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,016
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Trash prefs and databases. Follow the instructions in the troubleshooting section here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...Optimize-10-13


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2019, 04:20 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,080
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Trash prefs and databases. Follow the instructions in the troubleshooting section here: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...Optimize-10-13


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
In addition to the above: is the iLok plugged into a working USB2 port? iLoks have been known to be allergic to USB3 ports. Is the iLok itself okay?

Also the last compatible OSX for PT12.2 is OSX 10.10.4
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2019, 02:21 PM
xelsior xelsior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jersey
Posts: 12
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

thanks. yeah my ilok is good
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2019, 02:37 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,080
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelsior View Post
thanks. yeah my ilok is good
Is it plugged into a USB2 or USB3 port?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2019, 03:32 PM
xelsior xelsior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jersey
Posts: 12
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Don't exactly know
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2019, 04:12 PM
xelsior xelsior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jersey
Posts: 12
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Ok. when you say trash preferences, how exactly do I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2019, 04:37 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,016
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelsior View Post
Ok. when you say trash preferences, how exactly do I do that?


Follow the link I provided.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2019, 05:30 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,080
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelsior View Post
Don't exactly know
You don't know what type USB port you have?
What does OSX system profiler tell you?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2019, 06:47 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,220
Default Re: My PT 12.2 won't open all of a sudden

PT 12.2 was only qualified up through Mac OS X 10.10.4, but it might help to know if you updated your OS (or made any other changes) from when it was working. It does sound more pref related so please let us know the results after you trash prefs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while transl SNAPPER Pro Tools 9 6 02-11-2017 11:32 AM
PT 9.0.5 with Lion - unable to open other MIDI apps open as standalone Rebel macOS 29 05-22-2012 10:49 AM
All of a sudden my projects won't open and I get a warning The dman Pro Tools 9 1 12-21-2010 11:20 AM
M-Powered 8 won't open all of the sudden. Illustrious Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 18 02-26-2010 10:31 AM
And all of a sudden- 1977 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-15-2005 03:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com