Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2014, 07:06 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Default Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Since updating to 11.2, I've had a seriously annoying bug! If I select a plugin near the bottom of my plugin list, a random plugin is launched, instead of the one I've selected. At first I thought it was just with UAD plugins, but it's also happening with everything. If I attempt to launch Waves V Comp, I'll get something else instead, and something completely random. Each attempt I get a different plugin, until it just decides to work. Is this happening for anyone else? I do have a huge number of plugins installed, but I need to keep them all for session compatibility.

Also, since version 11, like in one of the early v10 releases, I'm once again unable to consistently type the first few letters of a plugin, and hit return to launch it. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. To reproduce, click to insert a new plugin, move the mouse to the EQ category, and then type SSL to jump to SSLchannel. When you hit return, sometimes the plugin launches, sometimes it doesn't, and now, in 11.2, sometimes it launches something completely random.

I know others are having this issue, but why isn't it more talked about!?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2014, 12:04 AM
findingthesound findingthesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

I've exactly the same problem.
Really annoying!
I'm working on a Raven Slate layout, and can't perform batch command correctly, so I can't make some "one button plugins recall".
Last time it selected an UVI plugin in place of an UAD....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2014, 10:12 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,055
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

What are the systems?

Try,
Font cache trash and verify for no duplicates.
Clear the AAE cache and rescan plug folders, same for waves plugs.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2014, 09:24 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Early 2009 Mac Pro, 8 core 2.26, 22GB Ram, OSX 10.9.4, HDX, UAD Octo and Quad. Pro Tools 11.2 (where the random issue appeared).

Will try these potential solutions.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2014, 11:27 AM
findingthesound findingthesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Thanks Detroit, I tried but unfortunatly that didn't worked.
Any other Idea?

Config: Mac pro 2009 upgraded to 5.1, 12 core 3,46GHz 64Go, HDX1, Two UAD Octo, macosx 10.9.4 and pthdx 11.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2014, 11:38 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

No change here either. I was able to make some of my go to plugins favorites, and they seem to launch correctly each time. This is just a pain too, since those favorites disappear with updates/preference deletion.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2014, 12:05 PM
findingthesound findingthesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Same problem as you with the "favourites plugins" workaround...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2014, 01:20 PM
findingthesound findingthesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
What are the systems?

Try,
Font cache trash and verify for no duplicates.
Clear the AAE cache and rescan plug folders, same for waves plugs.
Just a thing to be sure, when you say font cache trash and clear AAE cash, what are the exact procedures?
I may did the wrong thing as I have pt10 and pt11 on the same computer.

Thank you very very much for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2014, 10:02 AM
findingthesound findingthesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

I finally simply solved this issue by changing the setting of my keyboard from "french" to "US".
Now everything is working ok.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2014, 08:51 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: Random Plugin Selection/Plugin Selection Shortcut issues

Just changing that made the random plugin launch stop?

I've already got my keyboard set for US.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plugin selection crashing PT11.0.2 musicman691 Pro Tools 11 7 12-19-2013 03:27 AM
SC48 muting on plugin selection wirebox VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 01-25-2012 03:52 PM
Faster Patch selection using PT plugin settings? littlesicily Virtual Instruments 15 10-23-2009 04:59 PM
Still can't demo Upgrade plugin selection ? Tom Mix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-16-2005 11:16 PM
selection shortcut? rogga_bogga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-07-2005 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com