Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-23-2009, 07:31 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

Yes, miles is right. You need to have the special version of OS9 that came on the restore disk(OS9 general). I think what's happening is the version you are booting from your SCSI disk isn't able to access all of your hardware properly(namely your pci slots).

I'm amazed you can even get it to boot, I could never even get an mdd to boot from any of my OS9 retail disks.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-24-2009, 06:07 AM
DJTempo DJTempo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

Delta Music Belgium: will ANY of the grey OS X/9.2 DVD installer discs work? Or will it have to be specifically for the 1.25 MDD G4?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:01 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTempo View Post
Delta Music Belgium: will ANY of the grey OS X/9.2 DVD installer discs work? Or will it have to be specifically for the 1.25 MDD G4?
It needs to be from any of the mdd machines. The earliest one was the dual 867, the last one was the dual 1.25. All of these machines had something different in the motherboard that required this special version.

Here is a good reference of what these machines are and when then were made:

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...wermac-g4.html

Note that the FW800 models were not bootable in OS9, so their restore disks did not include the Os9 general. FW800 models included a single 1.0GHz, a dual 1.25GHz, and a dual 1.42GHz. Confused yet?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-24-2009, 04:38 PM
DJTempo DJTempo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

I don't know the details, but I acknowledge the reference to the FW800 vs. FW400 machines.

MilesOfWire: djtempo3345@gmail.com is my e-mail.

ANY help in finding the appropriate install/restore DVD will be SO appreciated. I nearly gave up on this project and was shopping for a 466MHz G3 (fastest G3?) as I can get SD and the AMIII card running on the G3 machines without a problem.

And as it is Christmas eve, I'll dispense with the political correctness and wish everyone a Merry Christmas.

Chip
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:07 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 569
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTempo View Post
Delta Music Belgium: will ANY of the grey OS X/9.2 DVD installer discs work? Or will it have to be specifically for the 1.25 MDD G4?
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
It needs to be from any of the mdd machines. The earliest one was the dual 867, the last one was the dual 1.25. All of these machines had something different in the motherboard that required this special version.

Here is a good reference of what these machines are and when then were made:

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...wermac-g4.html

Note that the FW800 models were not bootable in OS9, so their restore disks did not include the Os9 general. FW800 models included a single 1.0GHz, a dual 1.25GHz, and a dual 1.42GHz. Confused yet?
I'm not sure this info is correct, I have a MDD and a MDD FW 800, both restore disks do have OS 9 on it. One has OS X 10.2.4, one has OS X 10.3, both have a separate 'Classic' OS 9 installer. It is intended for use as the 'Classic Environment' in OS X and this is a complete version of OS 9.2.2. With a MDD FW 800 you can't start in OS 9, that is correct, but you can install OS 9 and use it inside OS X.

So yes, any of the grey OS X + 9.2.2 DVD installer discs for G4 will work.

But beware, there are also grey installer disks for iMac's and PowerBooks, these will not work on a G4! (but 'iMac' or 'Powerbook' is written in large on the disk, even larger then 'PowerMac G4' is written on the disk you need)
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:52 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta Music Belgium View Post
I'm not sure this info is correct, I have a MDD and a MDD FW 800, both restore disks do have OS 9 on it. One has OS X 10.2.4, one has OS X 10.3, both have a separate 'Classic' OS 9 installer. It is intended for use as the 'Classic Environment' in OS X and this is a complete version of OS 9.2.2. With a MDD FW 800 you can't start in OS 9, that is correct, but you can install OS 9 and use it inside OS X.

So yes, any of the grey OS X + 9.2.2 DVD installer discs for G4 will work.
You're right. I totally forgot about "classic mode." I guess it's easy to forget something that is absolutely useless
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:09 AM
DJTempo DJTempo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

OK gang... I'm at the end of my rope.

I've spent the past few weeks trying to find a copy of the original install disc for my 1.25 MDD G4. This seemed to be the consensus as to why I can't get the Mac to see the AMII card.

I just finished installing the OS X and 9.2.2 combination, and booted into OS 9. Installed SD 2.8.3, then DSI 5.0, rebooted again, and was staring at the same frustrating Hardware Setup page that's been driving me nuts for months now.

I see:

-------------------------

Select Card Type:
AudioMedia
ST II, Bridge I/O
442 Card
Project, Disk I/O

Cards to use:
Card 1: (with a pulldown box around the word) None

-------------------------

I think what the machine is trying to tell me is that is just doesn't see the card. And I am stumped.

Anyone have any ideas?

Chip
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-09-2010, 02:26 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 569
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

In Hardware Setup I can see exactly the same as you do, but for 'Card 1' I can choose 'Slot 3' (my AMIII is in slot 3).

Some questions:

- did you install DSI 5.0 and DAE 5.0? (not only the DSI)

- what happens if you put the card in a different PCI slot?

- I asked you this before, can you see the card with Apple System Profiler'? It should show something like this:

pci11af,ee40:

Type: Audio
Bus: PCI
Slot: SLOT-3
Vendor ID: 0x11af
Device ID: 0xee40
Revision ID: 0x0011

If Apple System Profiler can't see the card, maybe your PCI slot(s) are broken or full of dust and need cleaning

I would start with checking with Apple System Profiler and try every PCI slot available if needed... If Apple System Profiler can see the card, the problem is not hardware but software (DAE/DSI combo and/or corrupt Preferences).

Can you confirm Apple System Profiler can see the card?
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:41 PM
DJTempo DJTempo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

In the system info, I have to assume this is the info for the AM3 card cause it doesn't actually identify it in a manner that says "hey... this is your AM3 card".

PCI Slot 3 >PCI Slot

Card type: not available
Card name: pci11af,ee40
Card model: -1
Card ROM number: not available
Card revision: 17
Card vendor ID: 11AF

I've tried a different slots at random, I'll have to try them all systematically (but not tonight). The other thing to mention, I put the card in a 733MHz G4, and had the same (lack of) results. (this to possilbly rule out a bad/dirty slot).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:46 PM
DJTempo DJTempo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: Mac G4 1.25 Single Processor, AM3 card, can't find the card...

DAE and DSI are both version 5.0.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just want to buy a single HDX card ? Firechild Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-28-2011 10:52 AM
Single slot monitor card? efisch Post - Surround - Video 7 09-25-2011 10:41 AM
ATTO Single SCSI Card and a G4 - Possible?? worldsend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-16-2005 11:22 PM
G4 533 Single Mix Plus PT 5.01 Doesn't see Mix farm card Count Zero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-17-2001 09:47 AM
Can I use an 888 and 1622 on a single Mix Card ? Evolution Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-27-2000 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com