Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:30 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 76
Default quick punch with a footswitch 002r

i have been using quickpunch to punch in on tracks with a footswitch
the problem i am having is when i press the switch i have to do it twice to record enable and twice to de-activate
i am using a latching style footwitch
i have looked in all my books ( refrence guide) and all it says is to use a switch it does not say if it needs to be latching or non latching
i bought a footswitch similar to the roland fs-1 and it did not work i took it back and got a boss fs-5l which you plug your own cable into just a basic instrument cable i even made my own all methods that i have tried require you to double tap the swith

should i be using a momentary swith(like a keyboard sustain pedal) if this is the case do i have to hold it down while recording if so that sucks

i could of sworn a couple of years back i read it could use any switch
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:40 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

Why use a footswitch at all when you can select a recording range in the playlist, have a couple of bars of pre-roll to pick up the groove and let protools handle the punch-in/out ?
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:48 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 76
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

because with quick punch and a switch if there is multiple mistakes trhough out the song but the over all take was good but you want to correct some minor glitches say one at the begining one in the middle one at the end it is quick to punch in and out and take care of everything in one pass

the method you speak of is great but with multiple punches it allows me to get it done on the fly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:54 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

Yeah...makes sense. Would be faster once you find the proper switch.
I guess I was so glad to be done with manual punching from the old 4-trak cassette days, I never really looked back. Fostex used to have switches that looked like turkey-basters....they used a little puff of air to switch. Real smooth
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:19 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 76
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

i did some more research it looks like a momentary switch is what is neede like a keyboard sustain pedal
i am still wondering if i will have to hold the switch down while recording
that would suck but on the other hand i did find that the latching swith will work just have to tap it twice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:49 PM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,191
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

Get quick enough with edits and that foot switch will go away. I had one for about a day and realized that a pre roll is all you need. Make markers through the song where a FIX needs to go and then just tab to the marker, seect your part and record. The pedal got old.

My .02 cents.

Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON REVERBNATION

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

I use mine a lot. And yes, a momentary is the correct type(normally open if you have a choice).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:42 PM
Ragsdale Ragsdale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cedar Hill, TX USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

Quote:
Get quick enough with edits and that foot switch will go away. I had one for about a day and realized that a pre roll is all you need. Make markers through the song where a FIX needs to go and then just tab to the marker, seect your part and record. The pedal got old.

My .02 cents.

Doc
I agree with Guitarhead. Most keyboardists will be comfortable recording while glued to a workstation table because they are a) used to having their instrument of choice perched right there in front of them, and b) used to sitting down at a station to play it. I'm a guitarist first. So sitting down when I'm playing (bellied up to a desk) is not a comfortable playing posture... at least for me.

Plus, in home or small studio situations where room is at a premium, sitting at the desk and playing an analog instrument (guitar, harmonica, brass, woodwind, percussions, vocals, etc...) means cramped quarters: you either have to queue pre-roll and play/sing sitting down (and risk dinging an instrument that's hanging around your neck or being held in the off-hand) or queue pre-roll, get up, get in position and hope you don't miss your queue. Not efficient at all unless you make provisions to mess up the first pass and plan on loop recording multiple dubs.

As a guitarist first and keyboardist second, I find that standing up to play is most comfortable (stage habit.) Tough to do that and point & click at the same time. So I prefer to set-up preroll and play in a normal posture - completely hands-off everything but the instrument so I can focus on playing and not engineering. I feel a foot switch enables that. But that's just me...

BTW... what make & model of foot switch works best with the 002/003? Preferably one I can purchase at like Sweetwater or Guitar Center? It's almost like a best-kept Digidesign secret...
__________________
XPS400, WinXP Home SP2
3.2GHz Dual Core, 4G RAM
8800GTS w/dual Dell 19" Monitors
003 Rack
MOTU Midi Express 128
Roland A-37 88-key Controller
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2008, 07:43 AM
a100man a100man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 86
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

I usually use the preroll and selection method for punching, but it seems to me that quick-punch allows you to do some things that aren't available otherwise...

For example, using QP you can automatically get a crossfade, and PT has recorded audio for the entire time the transport was playing, so even if you find your punch point problematic you have lots of options. Does anyone know a way to get padding at the front of an "automated" punch like this (besides just punching in earlier)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2008, 04:44 PM
Ragsdale Ragsdale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cedar Hill, TX USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: quick punch with a footswitch 002r

Lots of great tech talk in here. I am really interested though in brand and model names of commercially recommended foot switches that can used for QPing with the 002 and 003. With regard to recommended foot switch solutions, Digidesign (like many other questions I have posed directly to pre-sales support - which doesn't seem to exist if you're using a phone or email) seems to relish non-response, keeping a great many things under hat like they are best kept secrets known only to insiders.

I am hoping someone can make sound recommendations as there HAS to be at least one designed for use specifically with DAWs (and recommended for the Digi002/003) that doesn't require a sheepskin from Full Sail to select and purchase.
__________________
XPS400, WinXP Home SP2
3.2GHz Dual Core, 4G RAM
8800GTS w/dual Dell 19" Monitors
003 Rack
MOTU Midi Express 128
Roland A-37 88-key Controller
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick punch.... can't hear track audio until I punch in stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-31-2017 02:11 AM
PT10+HD3+192I/O need a way to footswitch punch and xport controls ArKay99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-25-2012 10:39 PM
Punch in/out footswitch cjs102460 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 11-14-2010 12:38 PM
Can you punch in without a footswitch? digi 002? fafaflowley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-12-2005 09:20 AM
footswitch question on digi 002R starlightmints 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2003 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com