Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2006, 03:55 PM
Styles Bitchly Styles Bitchly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Penthouse Suite
Posts: 388
Default Headphone Mix w/Control 24

Hello Folks,

After several years in the PTLE domain, I'm finally stepping up the TDM level. I've done a search on this subject, but haven't found what I'm looking for, so I'm hoping one of you kind souls can point me in the right direction.

I haven't received my Control 24 yet, and I'm just trying to get a general grasp on it's ins/outs. My configuration includes 3 monitor pairs, which according to the manual I downloaded, is pretty much all the monitoring available. There is an aux out, which is cool, but I need at least four separate headphone mixes out of this beast. Anyone out there have a fix for my quandry?

Thanks
__________________
Due to budget cuts the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

http://www.gidakdigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2006, 05:21 PM
JNS JNS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 514
Default Re: Headphone Mix w/Control 24

Hi. Check over in the Control 24 section. There were a couple informative threads a while back that should help you.

Jeff
__________________
HD3 Accel with 2-192s(expanded) and Rosetta 800, PT 8.0.3cs2/10.5.8 on 8-core 2.8 GHz. MacPro with UAD-2 Solo/Duo and Magma Expressbox4 chassis, Sync I/O, Midi I/O, Control 24;
PTLE 8.0cs3 on Dual-core 2.3GHz. G5(PCIe), 003R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2006, 01:10 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,476
Default Re: Headphone Mix w/Control 24

Hi,

You won't be able to do 4 headphone mix from the control 24 directly! you'll have to use outputs from one of your interfaces to feed the headphone amp/amps and then set 4 sends inside your pro tools mixer to control the headphone sends to each musician!!(these sends can of course be controlled from the c24) you can also use an aux channel as a master send level etc the master send will be sent to the respective outputs on your interface. you will have to use groups as your send routing and i suggest naming all your groups in advance! drum send/bass send/guitar send/vocal send etc etc. this will require 8 outputs for 4 stereo sends! still when tracking you should have enough outputs available as you will be using only the inputs.

The c24 has 2 monitor outputs controlled by individual level pots! i quess you could use the aux out? but would have to turn down the other monitors first. i use my aux our as an overall headphone mix or a live room mix!

I reccommend getting a good quality bantom patchbay to control all your interface routing! one day those outputs will be doing headphone duty, next day they are you sends to the outboard and next day your sends to your surround mix etc.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:27 AM
Styles Bitchly Styles Bitchly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Penthouse Suite
Posts: 388
Default Re: Headphone Mix w/Control 24

Hey, thanks for the info. That definitely sheds some light on the whole problem. I appreciate your help.
__________________
Due to budget cuts the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

http://www.gidakdigital.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Headphone mix from HD3 + 96i + Control 8? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-24-2006 11:02 AM
Control 24 headphone cue mix help!! jammanis ICON & C|24 14 02-21-2006 06:30 PM
Headphone Mix With The Control/24 RCKPROD ICON & C|24 2 10-05-2005 09:08 AM
Headphone mix and Control room mix TrippSTRAT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-11-2003 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com