Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1351  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:35 AM
-Scaldis- -Scaldis- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hi,

Does anyone have any experience with the alienware laptop Area-51m 7700 *(www.alienware.com)

Because I'm planning on buying this laptop and I would like to use it with a DIGI002rack. I can't find any info in the support section that says that the Intel 915P chipset is supported or not.

This is the configuartion of the laptop :

Operating System: Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional UK with SP2 - English
Case: Area-51m 7700 Case with 17" WideXGA+ 1400 x 900 LCD Display - Xeno
Grey
Processor: Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 560J w/ HT Technology 3.6GHz 1MB
Cache
Motherboard: Intel® 915P Chipset Supporting PCI-Express
Memory: 2GB Dual Channel DDR2 PC-4200 533MHz - 2x1024MB
Video Card: Area-51m 7700 NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 6800 with 256MB of DDR3 memory
Hard Drive: Single Drive Configuration - 60GB 7200 RPM ATA100 - Hitachi
Optical Drive One: 8X Dual Layer DVD+/-RW / 24X CD-RW Combo w/Software
Floppy Drive: USB Floppy Drive
Sound Card: Intel® High-Definition Audio (24-bit, 192Khz) with 7.1 surround
sound
Ethernet NIC: Integrated 10/1000Mb Gigabit Ethernet NIC
Modem: 56K Modem with V.92 Technology
Keypad: Mobile Keypad - English

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #1352  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:08 AM
mfavila mfavila is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Wow they actually updated the compatibility pages!

Well, I'm thinking this is not compatible:

Motherboard: Intel® 915P Chipset Supporting PCI-Express


according to the 002R page it looks like it would fall under the 915 "X" category:

Chipset Requirements with Intel P4 processors:

Intel 925xe
Intel 915gl/915gv
Intel 875p
Intel 865pe
Intel 850/850e
Intel 845/845e/845pe

Not Compatible:

Intel 925x
Intel 915x
__________________
Mac Pro w/ Lion. PTLE 8.0.5.
Reply With Quote
  #1353  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:23 AM
-Scaldis- -Scaldis- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Yes I know, but does the X stand for x or a, b, c, p, ...

Because I'm no expert in chipsets and as long as they or not listed as not compatible, it could work. It only means that they haven't tested yet.
Reply With Quote
  #1354  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:23 AM
David P David P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 58
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hello Hallen!!

I have Gateway 7422gx.
I install XP pro SP1, standard pc, but i can't record in 128
i use Sampletank 2XL

you install via 4 in 1 driver..???

bye
David Puentes B.-
Reply With Quote
  #1355  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:31 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Hello Hallen!!

I have Gateway 7422gx.
I install XP pro SP1, standard pc, but i can't record in 128
i use Sampletank 2XL

you install via 4 in 1 driver..???

bye
David Puentes B.-
No but I would try switching to Standard PC mode.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #1356  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:49 AM
gprs gprs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Yes I know, but does the X stand for x or a, b, c, p, ...

Because I'm no expert in chipsets and as long as they or not listed as not compatible, it could work. It only means that they haven't tested yet.
The X is for a specific chipset. For desktop there's a 955X, 925XE and a 925X. You can check on the Intel website.

For those interested, my Sony Vaio A317M (1.73Ghz, 1Gb RAM 80Gb HD) runs a 915GMS chipset which didn't work with my MBOX under PT6.7 but runs flawlessly using PT6.9. I got 32+16 last night with no tweaks other than the DEP fix and the usual XP changes.
Reply With Quote
  #1357  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:47 AM
-Scaldis- -Scaldis- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Thanks! I saw digidesign updated the compatibility pages again.

Now they say that 915P is not tested so*no known issues with Digi 002. I hope they will test it soon and that they fined it working well with DIGI002rack because I want to buy that laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #1358  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:41 AM
David P David P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 58
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hi!!

lastnight i fix my Gateway 7422gx, with standard pc

Digi Hardware: Digi002rack
PTLE Version: 6.4 cs7
Laptop Name and Model #: Gateway 7422gx
Ram type and Amt.: 1G ram
Hard Drive Config.: 4200
Firewire Card or Connection (Name and Model#):
Davec Test Results: 32 trax, 11 aux at 128


bye David P.
Reply With Quote
  #1359  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:00 PM
EDurney EDurney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 283
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Bien David!!


Debes llegar por lo menos a los 32+22 con ese laptop.....

Squeeze it!!
__________________
Pro Tools 10 / Duet 2 - Eleven Rack - Mbox 2 pro
MacBook Pro 2.2ghz Quad Core/ 8gb RAM/ 750HD

Pro Tools 9 HD / 192io / C24
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 / 8Gb Ram
Reply With Quote
  #1360  
Old 04-30-2005, 01:12 PM
sid rosen sid rosen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 54
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

hi,
after having some trouble with my emachine 6811, which i've had for about 2 weeks, i decided to re-install the OS from the disc they give you when you buy it. this time, i didn't add any other software, only turned off the screensaver, got rid of the desktop picture, and told the power saver to stay on. i installed protools mbox and ran the davec test, (is dave c a guy or does davec mean something?), and much to my surprise, i got to 28 tracks without going into the red on the processor meter. it was about midway. needless to say, i'm pleased. i wasn't sure about the plugins for the test so i ran the delays as mono versions, but it still seems pretty good. this is all with the stock 6811 running off the internal hard drive, which i thought ran at 5400 rpm, but from the DUC threads i've been reading, it may only be 4200 rpm. 512 mb of ram, and also the h/w buffer was set to 128. i guess that should suffice for hotel room recording:)
thanx to everyone for the tips, help, and support,
george
ps- i got mine new from a place in tarzana, CA, called macuniverse (pardon that) for a grand. not refurbed, but new. this was at the beginning of april 2005. they had 3 new ones at the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 04:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 10:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com