Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2019, 09:07 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 347
Default Remove / delete video track?

How do you remove a video track? Pro Tools 2018.7 vanilla.

I am unable to delete the video clip in the edit window and if I delete the whole track without removing the video region first, I'll get the "missing file" warning every time I open the session.

It's nuts. I either have to leave the video in the session forever and just make it inactive and hide it, or deal with a warning when I open the session.
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2019, 01:07 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 777
Default Re: Remove / delete video track?

Go into your clip window and make sure ‘show video’ is ticked. You can either scroll aaaalllllll the way down the bottom, or deselect ‘show audio’ and your imported video will be there. Delete that.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2019, 07:54 PM
kirkbross's Avatar
kirkbross kirkbross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 347
Default Re: Remove / delete video track?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Go into your clip window and make sure ‘show video’ is ticked. You can either scroll aaaalllllll the way down the bottom, or deselect ‘show audio’ and your imported video will be there. Delete that.
Maybe you have Pro Tools HD, or whatever they call it now... Ultimate. I don't have Show Video in my clip bin menu, just Audio, MIDI, Groups & Auto-created.

My video clips to not show up in my clip bin at all.
__________________
Pearlman Church Microphone > Great River MP-2NV > Warm Audio WA-76 > Apogee Symphony MK II 8x8+8MP > PT2018 on 2018 Mac Mini with 32GB of RAM running Mojave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:36 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 470
Default Re: Remove / delete video track?

I had the same problem:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=401686

I tried what dude suggested and it worked.

It would appear to be a bug of a sort that they don't seem concerned with fixing. IIRC, trying to delete the actual video file from workspace doesn't work either, as it'll throw an error telling you to delete the video track, which as you noticed - doesn't work.

I don't understand why they'd give us the option to work with video at all, if this is going to be the result, unless [tinfoilhat]it's a gentle nudge to steer you toward the idea of upgrading to HD/Ultimate. [/tinfoilhat]

__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delete or Remove CORE Plugins ? thesuitelounge Pro Tools 11 14 12-06-2015 08:29 AM
PT 7.2 CS2 - Cant DELETE Audio - Only REMOVE 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-07-2006 12:46 PM
Remove (Delete) All Automation Jason Kardong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-02-2004 12:58 PM
Remove vs. Delete Regions Timmothee72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-25-2003 06:15 AM
Delete? Remove? Español Jose Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-25-2000 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com