Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2018, 02:44 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 131
Default midi clip color

the coloring basically works. when I use the view "clips or notes" I get the correct color.

When I switch to "block" view all the clips are grey/no color. Is there a way to get the whole block colored in the track color?

Thank you
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2018, 03:03 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: midi clip color

Works fine here. What are you display preferences set to?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 03:36 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 131
Default Re: midi clip color

please have a look to the att.
6 midi tracks with 6 different colors. all blocks are grey.

the note "BA" has the correct color and when I click on the blue "ST" track it indicates that it's blue but again the block-view is grey. The notes do have the correct color though.

My settings are on:
- Midi note shows Vel
- Tracks and Midi Ch
- Track Color
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-11-06 at 12.30.42.jpg (39.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2018, 03:45 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: midi clip color

Your MIDI outputs aren't routed. They are set to "none". That will override any color codings/settings on my system.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2018, 04:12 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 131
Default Re: midi clip color

ah ok, that's on purpose because I use those tracks as visual markers in large sessions. I just tried with an intrument track same result if I don't add any instrument.

In fact I don't want to use audio tracks because I'm on Vanilla (track limit)
Do you have another solution using no resources?
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2018, 04:33 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: midi clip color

You can use a MIDI port/channel on your interface not in use. If you don't have that, I believe you can create a MIDI "dummy" in your MIDI studio setup. As long as the MIDI tracks are routed to "something", your color settings will be intact.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:19 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 131
Default Re: midi clip color

The Fabfilter Pro Q plugin has a midi input that works for the purpose. I hope it doesn't mess up PT I'll try

Thank you Stig
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:26 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: midi clip color

My pleasure. Hope it works for you. I don't work this way, but it's interesting to hear how others do/like it.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip Color Weirdness on 2018.7 CHRIS AIKEN Pro Tools 2018 2 08-04-2018 09:49 AM
Drag clip to track changes clip color in real time? diamondschwin Post - Surround - Video 0 08-31-2017 12:51 PM
Clip color question gopher Getting Started 3 12-11-2013 12:31 PM
Can anyone clarify 1) Midi Track Sizing, and 2) color coding Midi Editor Infiltrator Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 07:53 AM
Control+Option+Command/ Color palate track color KingFish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-28-2007 08:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com