Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2015, 07:28 AM
lauratgreen lauratgreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default Bit of a licence transfer problem...any advice?

Hi,

So up until last year I had been sharing an iLok. It has my licence for Pro Tools on there and then the remaining plug in licenses belong to the other person.
I bought a new iLok and tried to transfer my Pro Tools licence to it via the $25 option, but it is greyed out. I am assuming this is because it is a student licence can anyone confirm?
If so, is there any way that a licence can be changed from a student licence to a standard one? The four years of upgrades included in the licence has expired anyway so there is no difference now except for the fact I can't transfer it.

Any suggestions how I could get my licence onto a new iLok?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2015, 08:12 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Bit of a licence transfer problem...any advice?

Best you can do is transfer all the other licenses to a different ilok account (2 or more licenses cost $50 total to transfer) and keep the PT license where it is. Then your friend gets his/her plugins, and you have your own account with a Pro Tools license.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2015, 08:23 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,643
Default Re: Bit of a licence transfer problem...any advice?

And to add to Mesaones info there is no way to transfer a EDU license nor make it into a full license, hence the "free" all those years
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2015, 06:50 AM
lauratgreen lauratgreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default Re: Bit of a licence transfer problem...any advice?

Thanks both of you. That is what I suspected but thought if check to see if anyone knew a workaround!
If I transfer all the plugins onto my new ilok, and leave protools on the old, is it then possible to swap all details of an ilok account? Because obviously the plugins will now be in the one with my name and details and pro tools will be in the other persons. Is it as simple as going to account settings ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2015, 09:37 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Bit of a licence transfer problem...any advice?

You can change your registered name and email and other details, but you cannot change the username you log in with.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer PT HD9 licence mudgel Licensing & Accounts 3 03-22-2015 04:43 PM
MPT 1, iLok licence transfer Nezecus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-12-2010 09:56 AM
how to transfer licence/reg details.... jonboi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-15-2008 04:13 PM
PTMP - Licence Transfer millspost Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 09-06-2006 04:41 PM
Can you transfer an autotune ilok licence? audioluche Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-05-2006 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com