Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2011, 08:28 AM
ppiispa ppiispa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 1
Default Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

Hi,

I'm encountering occasional problems with headphone outs on a quite new Mbox 3 Pro. Most of the time both outputs work just fine, but sometimes one of them only puts out static noise. Problem disappears when turning the Mbox off and on again. Problem also seems to randomly affect both headphone outs (but only one at a time), so it seems that headphone amps are ok. Has anyone else encountered similar problems and do you have any idea if this is a hardware or software issue (just wondering if I should return the product and get a new one as long I still can)?

EDIT: Forgot to mention that I'm using the latest drivers, Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 and Macbook Pro 13 (early 2011).

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2011, 05:55 PM
tuyun tuyun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wuhan, China
Posts: 5
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

Me too!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2011, 05:56 PM
FICO FICO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 1
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

I have the same problem. But sometimes I have no noise, the outs are dead. When I turn off and on again the Mbox, the problem is solved. Any suggestion?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2011, 07:45 AM
bedfordstop bedfordstop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

I was having this issue as well, it was really bizarre. I went in and trashed all the prefs, and i also changed the headphone output routing so that they were not both accessing 'stereo mix 1' and the problem seems to have gone away for the moment, i am not sure which of those actions helped. Still, this software and / or hardware has been super glitchy for me so far. i kind of want to do a fresh reinstall of my OS and PT 9 at some point to see if i can shake the gremlins out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2011, 01:18 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

We've been able to repro this issue and have it in the queue for a fix.

Thanks for the reports.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2011, 01:39 PM
mizieg mizieg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 119
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

I also have this problem - looking forward for a fix...
__________________
M -Ziegler
Copenhagen Denmark

| iMac 27" 3.2 Ghz Core i3 | 8 GB Ram | Pro Tools Mbox Pro (3) | Lacie d2 Disk Quadra v2.1 1 TB FW | Pro Tools 10.3.3 (always newest update) | MPT2 | OS X 10.8.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:27 AM
Gabrielzen Gabrielzen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

Same here! I'm looking forward for a fix too! please!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2011, 07:40 AM
aenigma aenigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

I'm also having an issue with my headphones.

I've had the Mbox for only a few days, and I would say over half of the time I have no sound coming out of my headphones for tracking, but I can listen back to what I record. Other times I can't get any sound at all. This is pretty frustrating, especially since this thing isn't even a week old.

Closing ProTools and restarting the Mbox has helped, but there have been several occasions I have had to restart it more than once to get everything going.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2011, 12:17 PM
Gabrielzen Gabrielzen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

For a start it would be nice to hear an answer to this basic question:

IS A SOFTWARE PROBLEM OR A HARDWARE PROBLEM?

Thanx!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:21 AM
aenigma aenigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Occasional headphone out problems with Mbox 3 Pro

I might be wrong, but my guess is it's hardware. I've used other Mboxs with ProTools 8 and have never seen this problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack headphone port versus MBOX and other interface headphone ports World Spirit Eleven Rack 3 02-12-2012 11:34 PM
002 console headphone problems mote45 Tips & Tricks 2 01-03-2006 10:15 AM
Having Headphone Monitoring Problems Cannibal80 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-26-2005 02:40 PM
mbox - occasional playback distortion bjkiwi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-05-2005 12:19 AM
headphone monitoring problems.. tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-11-2003 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com