Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2016, 09:57 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,063
Default Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Forgive my late night frustration. After a week of 12-15 crashes a day... And endless downtime optimizations, I'm throwing in the towel on 12.4 and I wanted to use the $400 support plan I paid for (in time) to send Avid some crash logs.

I tried to use the site, I really did. All I wanted was to click and get a form to ask a human a question. I got endless pulldowns and an offer to spend $999.

Can a human get in touch with me?

Sorry guys, I'm beat. 19 hrs 4 days in a row, most of it spending my clients watch me restart Pro Tools. Been a user since 97ish. Never been this frustrated.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2016, 10:38 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,425
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Sorry to hear this, Brian. I have forwarded your message.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2016, 11:25 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,679
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Sorry to hear you're having trouble. I started a case on your behalf. You can reply to the new case email and attach the logs, or sign into my.avid.com > Access The Support Center > Cases, then click your case # then "Attach File" to add the logs to your case. You can also call for support (using your System ID), though you state you want to submit log files so can do that via online case.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2016, 11:30 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Hang in there. Things will get better. We're all counting on it!

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2016, 07:02 AM
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,246
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

FWIW telephone support is your friend and it comes with HD!
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2016, 08:40 AM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Thanks guys. Seriously.

I've got like a dozen mixes to touch today. Hoping I get thru most of em without hours of delay. Hope to check in with support and upload some logs.

So many diff projects/drives/band files. All getting knackered up. For what its worth, it seems to my uneducated brain something to do with Pro Tools not accessing/reading regions with EA properly.

For instance, [this is hard without video], If I have a heavily edited drum group with like 10 tracks, and I want to copy and paste one chorus to the next? Crash. If I want to make one little adjustment to a drum hit across those tracks? When I move the marker, an entire other bunch of regions appear on screen pre edit point. I've run Diskwarrior on the drives and tried different ones. Same prob.

But if I consolidate that section (option ## whatever three), then edit the marker point, its fine.

Also, if I trash prefs before opening EVERY session, I sometimes don't get the crashes (not tenable long term).

Sorry for blathering. Like I said the ramblings of a man who needs some sleep lol.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2016, 06:00 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Tech support contacted me 8pm (5 their time). guess I am going to have fun this weekend.

belt sander, blowtorch and my trusty mac.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2016, 06:27 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 983
Default Re: Avid! Paid for support, site says nada.

Good luck sir. I think we've all been there and it does get better.

C
__________________
PT 2018.1 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID support-site broken? Frank Kruse Artist Series 1 09-06-2012 08:20 AM
Why is "PAID" Avid support so slow? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 19 08-10-2012 11:26 AM
Dear Avid customer support! Would you please answer my both avid support cases Ale Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-24-2011 01:56 PM
Avid/Digidesign paid RTAS plug-ins getz76 Pro Tools 10 6 10-21-2011 02:50 PM
Paid Structure Fix?!? Without Morals, Avid is Not Digidesign relaxo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 163 11-06-2010 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com