Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2015, 05:29 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Careful loading the latest Security Update from Apple. From MacInTouch:

Apple Security Update 2015-002 kills the Nvidia webdrivers in Yosemite, Mavericks and Mountain Lion.

If your screen stays black when rebooting after the install of the security update, you have to find another way to get back in your Mac.

There is a thread about this on the MacRumors Forum. You can find it here:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1853748
There seem to be several solutions to the problem. I solved it by replacing the systemversionplist file with one from my backup drive.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:54 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Seems this update only affects MacPros.

From Mac Rumors:

Maybe they just updated build number so nvidia driver stopped working.

There was some beta driver for 10.10.2 for all 14C releases.

install this driver before(or after security update)http://us.download.nvidia.com/dZAS8c...3.02.02b04.pkg

or wait for updated driver

To each his own, YMMV
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2015, 10:09 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
Seems this update only affects MacPros.

From Mac Rumors:

Maybe they just updated build number so nvidia driver stopped working.

There was some beta driver for 10.10.2 for all 14C releases.

install this driver before(or after security update)http://us.download.nvidia.com/dZAS8c...3.02.02b04.pkg

or wait for updated driver

To each his own, YMMV
NVIDIA HAS RELEASED A NEW DRIVER PACKAGE 343.02.02f03:
http://us.download.nvidia.com/Mac/Qu...3.02.02f03.pkg
see if it helps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2015, 01:57 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 725
Default Re: Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
does not work here (OSX 10.9.5 / GeForce 8800 GT), installer says system-version is not compatible
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5 / 10.12.6
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2015, 05:19 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
does not work here (OSX 10.9.5 / GeForce 8800 GT), installer says system-version is not compatible

it's for Yoesemite 10.10.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2015, 06:22 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 725
Default Re: Do not load latest Security Update from Apple

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
it's for Yoesemite 10.10.2
okay - thanks for the info
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5 / 10.12.6
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest 'Security Update' for SL musicman691 General Discussion 1 02-04-2012 10:00 AM
apple security update 2009-002? nst7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-14-2009 11:45 AM
Any problems with the the latest security, Quicktime or iTunes updates? WernerF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-01-2009 03:34 PM
LE won't launch since latest OS X Security update glavender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-22-2008 05:22 AM
Apple's security update is out, should i update? Arvid Gunardi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2003 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com