Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:25 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Blackmagic Mini Monitor PCIe card on PT11HD Windows

Just installed a BM mini monitor card on my windows PT rig. And am getting some frankly unbelievable results.

To get level sync playing DNX36 8bit, over HDMI into a Samsung LED LCD screen, I only need to put in a video sync offset of 4 quarter frames - 40ms.

This is already better than a decklink on PT10 mac by a long way. I attribute this to how simple the card is - it only outputs digits, so doesn't have to do any live down converts and then align the SD and HD outputs.

However, most LCD screens have around a 35ms latency on the HDMI input. So this would suggest just a 5ms latency through the card, which I'm finding a little unbelievable.

Is the AVE responsible for this? Or is it because BM cards are happiest on Windows?
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2014, 09:19 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Blackmagic Mini Monitor PCIe card on PT11HD Windows

UPDATE -

Just been in touch with Blackmagic Design.

According to them, on a digital only output card, this is the sort of performance they'd expect. Any card that has to live transcode to SD simultaneously to outputting HD digitally, will have a delay on the HD outputs to sync align them with the SD outputs. The more difficult this process, the more the delay.

So is this a case of a digital only video signal chain being the way forward?
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor Fedenev Post - Surround - Video 10 08-02-2014 10:34 PM
Have anyone use the BlackMagic Decklink Mini Monitor M-ManLA Post - Surround - Video 7 08-01-2014 06:12 AM
Blackmagic Mini Monitor WORKING with Pro Tools 11 mattsamperi Pro Tools 11 0 11-12-2013 07:44 PM
Production Toolkit 2 complete PCIE out w/blackmagic card Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 5 07-21-2011 06:55 PM
PCIe video out with non-Blackmagic card tom_lowe Post - Surround - Video 3 04-05-2010 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com