Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:38 AM
Bassturbator Bassturbator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Default Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

http://shop.avid.com/store/product.d...07527273749472

Please tell me this is an error in the system... or that I made a stupid mistake or something...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:27 AM
Nemosonic Nemosonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

There seems to be different prices all around the Avid website depending on the link.

On this one:

http://shop.avid.com/store/product.d...07527273741024

the price to upgrade to 10HD from 9HD is £238.80

But in the link here:

http://shop.avid.com/store/product.d...07527273749472

The prices from 9HD to 10HD £754.80.

Hey, what's happening here???

I would personally upgrade to 10HD from 8HD NOW!!! if the price was reasonable. But is seems to be that Avid has been a bit confused in setting the prices right.

Come on Avid! You are about to render our gear obsolete. Do us a favor and make at least the upgrade prices attractive in order to lure us to the hardware. I personally would assume that for this kind of upgrade, and 9HD being quite a recent update, to have 10HD for free. Or something ridiculous low. Anyway....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,874
Default Re: Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

Either there was a web page that was in error and has been fixed or you are confusing the Pro Tools 9 to 10 and the Pro Tools HD 9 to HD 10 prices.

PT 9 to 10 is US$299, PT HD 9 to HD 10 is US$999.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2011, 04:48 PM
Nemosonic Nemosonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

[bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]! You're absolutely right. I think my eyes just didn't want to believe it!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:28 PM
Nemosonic Nemosonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

Bugger! I think 10HD is truly an amazing piece of software. All the new features seem great and I can see how it would make my life better when working for post, which is the 90% of my work. But this excessive pricing along with some of the Apple rumors regarding the future of Mac Pros makes me thing...I will defo be building an i7 PC, splash for a copy of Sequoia and give it a go. The Accel HD2 system will stay, but perhaps it is time to give a try to something more cost effective.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 06:47 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,695
Default Re: Pthd 8 => pthd 10 = €1300 ?!?!?!?!

Okay. So my question is how do we go about this? I ordered a copy of Pro Tools 9 HD upgrade yesterday and I have a minute to sit on it since the store I bought it from is asking if I meant to purchase 10.

Here are four possibilities.

1. I purchase the Pro Tools HD 9 upgrade and register it and hope that Avid will give me a free upgrade to 10 like they state all over the place. However, something tells me that this is unlikely the way Avid will handle it.

2. I purchase the Pro Tools HD 9 upgrade and then pay $999 for the upgrade to 10, thus saving $150.

3. I purchase some service plan that people keep mentioning on these forums for $599 which includes all free upgrades for a year. This seems like the best option, but how do we purchase this service? Does anybody know more information about this?

4. Pay $1500 for Pro Tools HD 10 upgrade.... Uhhhh...no.... Not going to happen.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When you upgrade from PTHD 9 to PTHD 11... johnnyv Pro Tools 11 2 12-18-2013 01:21 PM
Wtb pthd 10 Barry Johns Buy & Sell 0 11-15-2013 07:59 PM
WTB: PTHD 10 upgrade from PTHD 8 soul Buy & Sell 5 01-18-2013 11:20 AM
ADC Bug in PTHD 9 holden Pro Tools 9 27 11-11-2010 02:49 PM
What does PTHD Native have over PTHD 9 running Natively? acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-07-2010 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com