Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:58 PM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Drum Pattern Sequencer

Although Boom is good, it has limited drum sounds, I also have Izotope iDrum but again it only works with its own drum samples. I own battery 3 and really love the drum sounds in this program, is there a midi drum pattern sequencer that I can get/download that will work with Battery 3?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:28 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

I'm not sure I understand what you are looking for. Pro Tools itself is a "drum pattern sequencer".

Or are you looking for something more like the old fashioned step-sequencing in boom and iDrum?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:31 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

Also, I'm not sure where you are getting the idea that iDrum will only work with it's own samples... You can load whatever samples you want into it.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2009, 05:37 PM
fenderrocker fenderrocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 425
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

Structure. Check out the air users blog for some great videos from Russ Hughes (RussUK on the DUC).

http://airvirtualinstruments.blogspo...e-list_19.html
__________________
Jim Carroll
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2009, 06:32 PM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

Quote:
Originally Posted by spkguitar View Post
I'm not sure I understand what you are looking for. Pro Tools itself is a "drum pattern sequencer".

Or are you looking for something more like the old fashioned step-sequencing in boom and iDrum?
Quote:
Originally Posted by spkguitar View Post
Also, I'm not sure where you are getting the idea that iDrum will only work with it's own samples... You can load whatever samples you want into it.
Yer the old fashioned step seq. with buttons. I know that you can load other samples into it, but I want something that I can use whilst using battery 3 so i can have both programs open, and have the seq program control battery 3, i hope that makes sense, It really shouldnt be that hard, all you would need is an 8ch midi out program.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
Structure. Check out the air users blog for some great videos from Russ Hughes (RussUK on the DUC).

http://airvirtualinstruments.blogspo...e-list_19.html
Ill have a ganders, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2009, 03:01 PM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

Try Reason.

Redrum, though basic, is great if you want the classic sequenced look/operation. Plus, you get all the other cool rack instruments + effects.

Of course, for realistic drums and such, you could look into BFD 2.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:58 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

I have reason, I want a program that will control Battery 3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:24 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

Pretty sure you can use Recycle with Battery samples to sequence within Reason. Haven't tried it myself, but you can use Recycle for lots of different samples.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:33 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

People are getting mixed up I think, I don't want to be able to load the samples into a drum programmer that I already have otherwise I would use iDrum, I want a midi drum pattern sequencer that has a row of buttons as in Reason, but instead of triggering an audio sample, it triggers a midi signal which I can then route to Battery or another drum program, I can't see it being that hard to make, it works in the same way a gate can trigger a midi signal.

If one hasn't been made I will be very surprised.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:44 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Drum Pattern Sequencer

I completely understand what you are looking for, however, there's nothing really in the way of "plugins" that can do it in Pro Tools. Pro Tools would need to be able to use the MIDI output of a plugin as MIDI input on a track. Nothing like this really exists.

FLStudio really is the closest thing to what you are looking for, will open Battery as a VSTi, and will re-wire into Pro Tools to return the audio. It's not all that expensive, either.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pattern Sequencer plugin? starburst MIDI 2 03-01-2010 12:29 PM
drum pattern to pt instead of just midi notes??? jolita Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 01-04-2010 12:41 PM
BFD LE 1.5 plays preset beat pattern for two measures when I start sequencer again studiostrat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-20-2009 12:45 AM
Transfuser: Recording a drum pattern Robin Henkel Virtual Instruments 0 11-15-2008 11:43 PM
Drum Pattern Editor anthonymunoz Virtual Instruments 3 05-29-2007 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com