Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2013, 09:16 PM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Hello. Not sure if anyone else has observed this issue. I am hearing random, audible pops/clicks in the monitor path of of my PT10.3.5 system. I am using a Digi 002R (drivers are up to date) interface and running through a 2.66 GHz iMac with 8 GB RAM. I never heard this before a couple weeks ago. I know that this is not occurring in the channel path of my system because this noise is not repeatable on playback. It occurs randomly. My monitor path consists of a PreSonus Central Station and two sets of monitors. The noise occurs in both sets speakers and in both Central Station input paths, and I have also tried using different 002R outputs instead of always using the 1-2 Monitor Outs. Nothing so far eliminates the noise. Even though this is not affecting my tracking, hearing the pops and clicks in the monitor path is still very distracting. Please let me know if anyone is using a similar configuration and having the same issue.

Thanks,

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2013, 03:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,149
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

I suspect it may be the computer trying to do a little too much. Maybe try disabling some/all plugins and/or changing the playback buffer to a higher setting(at least to see if that helps) Also, uncheck the box for Ignore Errors(if its checked).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2013, 08:20 PM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Thanks Albee! The "Ignore Errors" fix took care of the problem! Somehow that box must have defaulted to "on" and I did not notice. Pretty short-sighted of me not to recognize that. Thank you so much for that solution!

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2013, 08:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchlight View Post
Thanks Albee! The "Ignore Errors" fix took care of the problem! Somehow that box must have defaulted to "on" and I did not notice. Pretty short-sighted of me not to recognize that. Thank you so much for that solution!

Torchlight
But just unchecking "ignore errors" should not just fixed any pops/clicks, when disabling ignore errors you would normally expect Pro Tools to start crashing with DAE errors instead of getting the pops and clicks. Did you change any other things as well? Are you seeing any DAE errors? What exact ones?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2013, 09:40 PM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

No crashing yet with DAE errors. I did not change any other things. If I do start to see DAE errors what would you suggest? Before a few weeks ago I never had this issue. Not sure what else would have changed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2013, 09:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchlight View Post
No crashing yet with DAE errors. I did not change any other things. If I do start to see DAE errors what would you suggest? Before a few weeks ago I never had this issue. Not sure what else would have changed.
An exact DAE error will help, but in general addressing likely problems would look like...

Is your system fully optimized. Done every last thing? Automatic updates disabled, Bluetooth disabled, WiFi disabled, Spotlight disabled, on the audio/session drive? (try disabling on all drives if you have more problems), Time machine backup disabled/not active during session, no antovirus crapware installed, etc. etc.

What are all the disk drives on your Mac (make/model/rpm) and what is on what one (e.g. which one is the boot/system dive, where are VI sampels stored and which drive is the dedicated audio/session drive?).

What exact CPU model do you have in the Mac (and important how many physical and virtual cores).

What are all the settings in the Pro Tools playback engine dialog?

Are all the plugins absolutely up to date/compatible with the OS and Pro Tools versions?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2013, 07:10 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Until I see a DAE error pop up I can't tell if I will have further issues. In light of what you stated in your very thorough response (thank you Darryl), why would Avid design the Playback Engine so that you could either engage or disengage the "Ignore Errors During Playback" feature if one should always run with it engaged? I'm not sure I ever recall it being engaged for my sessions until now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2013, 08:56 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchlight View Post
Until I see a DAE error pop up I can't tell if I will have further issues. In light of what you stated in your very thorough response (thank you Darryl), why would Avid design the Playback Engine so that you could either engage or disengage the "Ignore Errors During Playback" feature if one should always run with it engaged? I'm not sure I ever recall it being engaged for my sessions until now.
I am not sure what you are asking, I would normally have ignore errors unchecked, checking it is a hack to maybe help get you out of problems.... Mostly caused by user mistakes with under configured or miss-configured systems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-03-2013, 09:59 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Maybe I misunderstood what you were saying originally. So I would normally run a session with the "ignore errors" unchecked? That is what I am doing now because when it was checked I heard pops and clicks. Now that it is unchecked I hear no pops and clicks, and so far no error messages. And when I look at the CPU usage indicator (system usage window) it appears to be running normally for a recording session at a H/W buffer of 128 samples and with no plugins inserted/activated. But I think that you are also saying that I should make sure that my system is fully optimized anyway. However, much of what you discussed in your earlier detailed message is somewhat over my head (ex. physical vs virtual cores).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:15 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Random, Audible Pops/Cracks in Monitor Path

Yes that is what I am saying--make sure your system is properly set up. Answer all those questions I asked earlier. Looking at CPU meters is usually a pointless exercise.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audible cracks after updating to PT 8.0.5 scubadrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-21-2011 08:02 AM
Cracks and Pops using 96k tim carter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-23-2011 08:59 PM
cracks and pops on new pc with fw 410 tweepuntnul Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 10-13-2008 12:36 PM
pops and cracks fransmo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 12-04-2006 12:28 PM
Pops & cracks savage Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-27-2001 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com