Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2010, 10:59 AM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 554
Default midi regions and deleting notes

Why is it when i want to shorten the region, it keeps the midi note going beyond where i shortened it? For example, i grab the end of the region and slide it to the left to shorten the region. It doesn't shorten the midi note it just stays outside of the region. Wouldn't it make sense to shorten the midi note along with the region? Or am i missing something here? As it is now, i shorten the region and then have the grab the midi note and shorten that too.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2010, 11:29 AM
Wavelabs Wavelabs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: On The Moon
Posts: 267
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

I totally agree with you on this.
This has happend to me so many times,
I just want to pull my hair out of my roots.

No matter how many times you shorten the region it seems
to have a life of its own and either go back to the thing you did not want in
the first place, or makes it even longer.

This is another reason why I posted my post about Midi.
And the reason why Digidesign needs to fix this quick.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 940 w/ CoolerMaster V8 Cooler - GigaByte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P - ATI Radeon 6850x2 (x2) - Win7 x64-bit - AMS Venus-T5 with 1-TB x5 Drives
Kingston Hyper-X DDR3-1066 2gig x4 (8gig Ram) - WD SATA VelociRaptor 300 (x4) - XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX - Groove Tubes GT-66 & 55 Microphones - BBE 422-A - Aphex 104 C2
Vantec MRK250ST w/ Win7 x64-bit (HotSwaped for ProTools v8.0.4 Unit) - Acer v223w (x2) LCD Screens - Events 20/20 - Avantones - Mackie HR824 - AKG P220 - HS50m's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:04 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

A region represents where notes begin.

there are many reasons I can think of why not trimming the end of notes when trimming regions is a good thing, and I suspect that they would out-weigh the reasons for.

For example: if you want to trim a region, let's say because you're unhappy with the performance that you want to trim off, then you're suggesting that you also want to alter the note that was part of the performance that you are happy with.

Why would you want to do that?


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:40 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 554
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoRugMan View Post
A region represents where notes begin.

there are many reasons I can think of why not trimming the end of notes when trimming regions is a good thing, and I suspect that they would out-weigh the reasons for.

For example: if you want to trim a region, let's say because you're unhappy with the performance that you want to trim off, then you're suggesting that you also want to alter the note that was part of the performance that you are happy with.

Why would you want to do that?


.
That's exactly what i want to do!! I don't know why you wouldn't want it to do that. It's not altering the note, it's just trimming it so i can add in another region, or loop or whatever. It's especially bad for looping the same region because you get all this pile of mess that should have just been trimmed with the region.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:42 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 554
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

On another note, it would be exactly the same as audio. You're trying to trim the audio you wouldn't want the wav extending past the region would you? It's quite pointless in my opinion to have to trim both the region and the midi data.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:49 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
On another note, it would be exactly the same as audio. You're trying to trim the audio you wouldn't want the wav extending past the region would you? It's quite pointless in my opinion to have to trim both the region and the midi data.
You've almost described another reason not to do it....

Imagine for a moment that a MIDI region is an audio region, and the audio is a sound that has a long reverb tail all the way to the end.
If you were to trim that, the reverb sound would come to an abrupt end, instead of tailing-out as it was originally meant to do.

The length of a MIDI note is just as important as any other aspect of the note - a shortened note becomes an entirely different note!

You could easily see what I mean if you were to do this, and switch to the Score view before and after.

With me?


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2010, 03:03 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 554
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

I'm not following you. When you cut off the audio it doesn't have a tail, it just stops. Unless you are using effects in which case i mainly use aux tracks for that so that should take care of that. I guess we just like using midi in two different ways, this way is much faster for me and makes more sense for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2010, 03:14 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
I'm not following you. When you cut off the audio it doesn't have a tail, it just stops. Unless you are using effects in which case i mainly use aux tracks for that so that should take care of that. I guess we just like using midi in two different ways, this way is much faster for me and makes more sense for me.
My point is that making the note different can effect the resulting sound in a variety of ways - articulation response from the Virtual Instrument, or, if the VI's chosen sound is an evolving one, and so on.
And, by using effects in the way you've stated, this can again effect the sound generated by that effect quite considerably, because a lot of effects are driven by the length of notes.
What you're describing would be fine if all sounds were like a sine wave, with none of these aspects.

Maintaining the original length of all notes, if you're happy with them, can go a long way towards "humanization" of your music.


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2010, 03:23 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 554
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoRugMan View Post
My point is that making the note different can effect the resulting sound in a variety of ways - articulation response from the Virtual Instrument, or, if the VI's chosen sound is an evolving one, and so on.
And, by using effects in the way you've stated, this can again effect the sound generated by that effect quite considerably.
What you're describing would be fine if all sounds were like a sine wave, with none of these aspects.

Maintaining the original length of all notes, if you're happy with them, can go a long way towards "humanization" of your music.


.
But if you were to do it like that then why the need to trim the region in the first place? I mainly use midi for sampled drums to layer under acoustic tracks. After trimming the midi note down the sound goes beyond the region anyway. Atleast it does for me. Along with piano instruments, the sound tails past the region whether the notes is trimmed or not. I'm not trying to argue, i'm really trying to figure out what you're talking about because i just dont see it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2010, 03:32 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: midi regions and deleting notes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
But if you were to do it like that then why the need to trim the region in the first place? I mainly use midi for sampled drums to layer under acoustic tracks. After trimming the midi note down the sound goes beyond the region anyway. Atleast it does for me. Along with piano instruments, the sound tails past the region whether the notes is trimmed or not. I'm not trying to argue, i'm really trying to figure out what you're talking about because i just dont see it.
I'm not taking any of this as arguing - I'm keen to try and help.

ok, in the case of drums, if you're using a VI with multi-sampled or multi-layered samples, it does make a difference.

I use East West Quantum Leap SD2. Every time you play a sample, especially while holding the key for different lengths of time, the instrument plays a different sample of that source.
This is even more noticable with tonal instruments, like a piano. You can hold the note for one type of sound, or tap it quickly to produce staccato - two very different ways of performing.


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Writing automation without deleting MIDI notes lostsherb88 Virtual Instruments 1 11-28-2011 05:32 PM
Deleting midi tracks with midi notes on them. TCDet MIDI 2 07-03-2009 04:41 PM
Deleting hidden midi notes jonah day 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-25-2006 10:54 AM
Deleting MIDI double notes... Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-17-2006 07:07 AM
Deleting/Copy MIDI notes is not deleting/copying MIDI sustain? Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-26-2002 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com