Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:47 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Deleting MIDI double notes...

My MIDI controller seems to be malfunctioning, sending 2-3 very short additional notes with each press of a key. Until I can get is serviced, is there an automated way to delete double notes?

In case you don't see it in the sig, I'm on 6.1.2.


Thanks!
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:07 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,457
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Which MIDI controller are you using? Do you possibly have local control enabled?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,033
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

You may have a midi loop going where the midi from the controller goes into protools and comes back out to the controller causing a re-trigger. Disconnect the midi input on the controller and see what happens.
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:03 PM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Quote:
Which MIDI controller are you using? Do you possibly have local control enabled?
Roland A-80... older controller. Someone else told me to look for a local control setting when I asked about a similar problem, but I couldn't find any local control settings. I'll try Roland support again. When I called them last week they didn't mention local control and I forgot to ask.

Would a controller without internal sounds have local control?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:14 PM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Quote:
You may have a midi loop going where the midi from the controller goes into protools and comes back out to the controller causing a re-trigger. Disconnect the midi input on the controller and see what happens.
I don't have anything input to the controller. Only out to the 002 Rack.

I'm guessing the controller needs some service. It's a Roland A-80. I'm sure it's at least 15 years old.

...unless you have other suggestions. Any would be appreciated. I can't record much until I fix the controller or find an automated way to delete the double notes. I'm a one-man, two-piece band without it.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2006, 12:45 PM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Anyone?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2006, 12:53 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Every keyboard has a local control, usually in the utilities or setup menu. It definitely should be turned off - you can download manuals from Roland's site in PDF format, maybe check that out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2006, 04:22 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,457
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Actually his keyboard wouldn't have local control if it doesn't have built in sounds, which the A-80 doesn't.

Are you possibly using any ReWire applications at the same time? If so, you'll want to make sure to disable any MIDI input in their preferences, as that can cause double note triggering.

Beyond that, it definitely sounds like you have a defective keyboard and, unfortunately, there's no quick and easy way to delete doubled notes.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:07 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Deleting MIDI double notes...

Quote:
...and, unfortunately, there's no quick and easy way to delete doubled notes.
I'm about to upgrad to PT7(have it but haven't installed it yet).

According to the What's New booklet, there's a new Remove Duplicate Notes command. Is this the feature I'm looking for?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi notes double Shatzer Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 03-20-2015 04:30 PM
Deleting hidden midi notes jonah day 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-25-2006 10:54 AM
Underlying double Midi notes/data ? steals 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-07-2003 12:47 AM
MIDI double notes on everything writethis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-27-2002 10:37 AM
Deleting/Copy MIDI notes is not deleting/copying MIDI sustain? Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-26-2002 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com