Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2003, 05:50 PM
cabuford cabuford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 151
Default Running PT LE without hardware

I have a Digi001 on a desktop G4.

I'm getting an iBook for travel.

Will I be able to run ProTools LE on the iBook without any protools hardware? I plan on only mixing down recorded sessions transfered from my G4. Usually only 18 tracks and minimal plug-ins.

I don't have the cash yet for an M-Box.
__________________
QS G4 Powerlogix Dual 1.6Ghz 1.5GB RAM
Digi001 10.3.9 PT 6.4
Powerbook 1.5GHz 1.25GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:29 PM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

Nope. PT Free is the only PT that runs w/o hardware. [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:42 PM
blah blah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 37
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

Yeah, he's right.

What's FREE have? 8 tracks?

I don't think that would help you if you have around 18 tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:47 PM
Muzza Muzza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 312
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

If you're getting a TiBook, can you stretch for an m-Box? this would let you take your stuff on the road adequately. Add a Firewire drive and you have almost zero transfer time into your Studio system.
__________________
_ _ _ _________ _ _ _
Murray
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2003, 06:54 PM
cabuford cabuford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 151
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

i can't spring for the TiBook, but I'm getting an 800MHz iBook G3 w/640 ram and a 40 gig hd. should be adequate for an M-Box. Already got a 120 gig firewire drive so that's covered.

I guess the queston now is M-Box being the affordable easy solution or selling the Digi001 and getting a Digi002.

Of course then I should sell the G4 anyway and get the new 17" powerbook. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
QS G4 Powerlogix Dual 1.6Ghz 1.5GB RAM
Digi001 10.3.9 PT 6.4
Powerbook 1.5GHz 1.25GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2003, 07:58 PM
AverageJoe AverageJoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 779
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

MBoxes are starting to show up in the Buy and Sell part of this forum and are pretty cheap used...

It really seems that Digi could make a dongle that could be tied to your software code (so as to only work with your software) that could be attached to a laptop for editing work without using the full MBox.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:05 PM
nostatic nostatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 233
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

contrary to popular opinion you *can* run PTLE without hardware attached (at least the version that comes with the MBox). BUT, you can't hear the results. Not an optimal situation, but I've actually edited that way, adding effects, etc. It is pretty limited though...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:07 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Running PT LE without hardware

Quote:
Originally posted by nostatic:
contrary to popular opinion you *can* run PTLE without hardware attached (at least the version that comes with the MBox). BUT, you can't hear the results. Not an optimal situation, but I've actually edited that way, adding effects, etc. It is pretty limited though...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I've only seen this be possible when running the MBox LE software on an older pre Pismo Powerbook with a USB PC card. On most machines, it's not possible.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running PT9 HD away from hardware Paul Turpin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-04-2010 11:23 PM
Running PT without hardware jinsel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-11-2006 01:10 AM
Le running on TDM hardware? Angus202 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 9 10-07-2005 12:58 AM
Running 6.4 LE without hardware Brent Flash Tips & Tricks 18 08-10-2004 07:33 AM
running pt without hardware duanebonney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-13-2003 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com