Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:37 PM
fritzcs@hotmail.com fritzcs@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6
Default How to init. ext. fire-wire drive [B]"Take 2"[/B]

I tried to post something a minute ago and somehow it is someone else's post - I don't know...I'll try again.

I am running ProTools LE on a Mac G4, OS 9.0.1 and just bought an external LaCie firewire, 120 GB, 7,200 rpm drive.

I know you're supposed to initialize and format the drive using Apple's Drive Set-up utility, but Appl'es utility doesn't seem to recognize the drive- only stuff on the SCSI chain it seems, but not firewire.

Instead, I initialized and partioned the drive using LaCie's utility "Silver Lining" v6.4.5a. This seems to have worked OK but when I copy a ProTools session to a volume and try to open it, ProTools needs to locate the audio files- After locating the audio files, it says the volume is not specification compliant. I think this drive should work OK and maybe I need to initialize it using Apple's utility, but I can't get it to work.

Anybody can help???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2003, 10:53 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to init. ext. fire-wire drive [B]"Take 2"[/B]

Install the update to OS 9.2.2 for better FW support.

You simply init the drive using the Apple Special->Erase Disk... menu item in the Finder.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2003, 12:58 AM
slideguitar slideguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 26
Default Re: How to init. ext. fire-wire drive [B]"Take 2"[/B]

I have a LaCie 80gig external FW; when I bought it at the local Apple store, I took it home with the understanding that I had 10 days to return it if I had problems. I called LaCie tech support, who told me directly "do not use" the silver lining to init the drive for Pro Tools. I formatted following these instructions, and I've had no further problems. Peace
__________________
MacPro
Tubes, Tubes, Tubes!!! (Boogie + EV)
Am. Del. Strat
National Lap Steel
buncha little glass bottles, 15 mm Craftsman deep socket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 10:10 AM
mix plus digi init "bus error" (aka: dead dsp, maybe) xdc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2003 08:02 AM
AV Option 5.3.1 update DOES NOT WORK!!! With ProTools 5.3.1 - "Aborting Init" Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-27-2002 08:43 PM
"A digisystem INIT is required" sweet tooth Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 06-21-2002 05:31 PM
" HELP! WHAT is " DIGI INIT ?!" Randy Cobb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-13-2001 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com