Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2010, 10:25 PM
torbjorn71 torbjorn71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Default PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Hi everybody I'm a newbie to this forum but have been working with Protools LE for quite some time. I just got a brand new 003 Rack+ and it just stopped working.

Thought I'd try a PCMCIA Firewire 400 dedicated connection, see if that works. Anyone know of a PCMCIA Firewire 400 hub that works with Snow Leopard/Protools LE/003?

The reason I am trying this is below. Thanks in advance--

For a while it was starting up but said to 'Protools cannot communicate with 003. Please reconnect the 003 and hit OK' once in a while.. I used to do this and it would then work, now it says it all the time and I am trying to figure out why. It won't work at all. I've been reading the forum and suggests uninstalling plug-ins, trying different cables, etc.

If I try the 003 through a different drive (Mac -> FW800 Fantom G-drive 500GB -> FW 400 003) I get slightly better results, as in Protools connects and doesn't crash, but I can't even get an empty template to play without H/W Buffer warning.

Both the G-drive and the Glyph work fine from the Mac's FW800 perspective, I can write/read files no problem it seems. So I'd like to try connecting without the daisy chain.

I am running a Macbook Pro 17" 2.93GHz w Snow Leopard, PT LE 8.03, 4GB RAM, dedicated Glyph 320GB drive, running mac -> FW800 to Glyph then FW400 -> 003.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2010, 11:23 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Digi doesn't recommend a hub.

You may be suggesting using a Express slot card and that will work.

You say it "just stopped working". What changed?

Just as a test, what happens if you plug the 003 directly into a 400 FW port?

What is your playback buffer set at?

When you say you try to get an "empty template to play". What is that? Empty? No audio?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2010, 06:10 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

If you just switched to the Glyph, and you're not using a fw800 to 400 adapter, that might be the problem. Other drives will act as converters (i.e., 800 from mac into 800 port, 400 port to 003) but Glyphs seem to have a problem with that. If you run an 800 to 400 adapter from the glyph to the 003 it might work better.

And the G drive's seem to have issues when they're placed in the middle of the chain, which might explain those problems. Even though in most cases it's not recommended, people have had better performance putting the G drives last in the chain.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2010, 07:22 PM
torbjorn71 torbjorn71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Park-- Thanks for the reply. To answer your questions:

Sorry I was thinking Express card, not hub. I am looking for a FW400 Hub that works with Snow Leopard and my Intel Macbook Pro 2.93 GHz.

The reason for this is because I was hoping to try to connect directly to the Mac with the 003, as you suggest, and the Mac has one FW800 port that's it. I tried a brand new FW800/400 cable to go from the Mac to the 003 and nothing mounts at all, the Mac doesn't see it.

Playback buffer is at its max. The pop up dialog says to 'increase' the buffer.

Sorry and about the empty template I just mean an empty session with nothing to do of any consequence. it wont even play without a pop up error.

I suspect the Glyph may be the issue, somehow choking the data transfer. I'd like to test going directly to the 003 from the Mac with an express card. The Glyph is working fine on its own. The daisy chain is failing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2010, 07:27 PM
torbjorn71 torbjorn71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Thanks for the response, NST7. I had not just switched to the Glyph, but to the 003, from an Mbox. I am not using an adapter. I'll try the 800 -> 400 cable I have form Glyph to 003 instead of 400 -> 400 from the Glyph to the 003.
Thanks for the note on the G-Drive, but I was just using it to try and rule out the 003 having problems. It's not a dedicated audio drive. It's too noisey for a studio.
I may replace the Glyph with something else as well and try that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2010, 08:22 PM
torbjorn71 torbjorn71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Ok I tried a FW800 ->FW400 cable from the Glyph to the 003. No luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2010, 09:21 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by torbjorn71 View Post
Park-- Thanks for the reply. To answer your questions:

Sorry I was thinking Express card, not hub. I am looking for a FW400 Hub that works with Snow Leopard and my Intel Macbook Pro 2.93 GHz.

I suspect the Glyph may be the issue, somehow choking the data transfer. I'd like to test going directly to the 003 from the Mac with an express card. The Glyph is working fine on its own. The daisy chain is failing.
Digi doesn't recommend hubs. You should be able to daisy chain.

You may want to download the AJA Kona speed test. It can be used on any drive to determine the bandwidth. Handy item.

http://www.aja.com/ajashare/AJA_System_Test_v601.zip

As a test, try the empty session from your internal hard drive with the Glyph disconnected. That way you can at least see if the problem is with your drive.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2010, 08:29 PM
torbjorn71 torbjorn71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Default Re: PCMCIA Firewire 400 for Snow Leopard/003 Rack+?

Thanks Park. I will try the speed test software.

My laptop has no FW400 plug only 1 FW800. I cannot actually get the 003 connected without a PCMCIA 400 Express card or a daisy chain thru a FW 800 device (such as a drive) that has a FW400 daisy connector, or a hub.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio Driver for 002 Rack/Snow Leopard Sonic Blue Meanie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-22-2013 08:16 AM
Digi 002 Rack Not Responding to PT 10 on MAC OS Snow Leopard dkbarnwell macOS 9 11-09-2011 10:14 AM
002 Rack does not appear in AMS Snow Leopard Markeo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-13-2010 09:52 AM
ExpressCard/34 w firewire 400 for Mac Snow Leopard? torbjorn71 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-23-2010 09:57 AM
Digi 002 rack..PT8.0.3.Snow Leopard Compatability issue delta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-01-2010 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com