Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:39 PM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default

For what it's worth, one of the many appealing features of the Lynx Auroras as PT HD front end is that they have the exact same latency as 192's and behave as 192s for all practicality (but not in sound hopefully!).
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2012, 07:29 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfere1 View Post
What's killing me is that everyone on here acts like this is no big deal....I'm at a loss...I mean this happens with any other DAW and it would've been a mutiny at hand. Published reports in the trade rags and all. To top it all off how do all the other "big-time" users act like nothing's wrong? hmmmm

so wait....does anyone know if this occurs with HDX and "their" hardware like the new HD I/O? can anyone verify? And if this native solution offering is "flawed" then who dropped the ball and wouldn't this constitute a bit of false advertising?

thinkin' out loud here...

thanks


Dennis
I thought it was fixable with the I/O settings. I would not want to deal with this.

C
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2012, 10:31 AM
sfere1 sfere1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I thought it was fixable with the I/O settings. I would not want to deal with this.

C
NOPE not fixable...and it's a major PIA to continuously nudge a track by hand every time you record it. UGH!

amazing isn't it?


Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2012, 12:49 PM
sfere1 sfere1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by groundcontrol View Post
For what it's worth, one of the many appealing features of the Lynx Auroras as PT HD front end is that they have the exact same latency as 192's and behave as 192s for all practicality (but not in sound hopefully!).
HA! not true! that's what i'm having a problem with....I also have 2 lynx's as backup to my Iz Ada here and the problem still persists albeit with a slightly lower latency amount but it's still there? don't believe me? take an audio track with a kick/snap/click out of 1 out and reroute it physically to another input and record. Zoom in and prepare to be astonished.

GUARANTEED


dennis
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:20 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

I just ran a test at the OP request.

I tracked a kick drum sample on a mono audio track
I sent that track out analog 7 of my 8x8x8 into analog 8 of the 8x8x8
I recorded the in of analog 8 onto a new track

With Delay Compensation ON - the tracks lined up
With Delay Compensation OFF - the second tracked was delayed by 80-90 samples.


Carl
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:31 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,065
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
I just ran a test at the OP request.

I tracked a kick drum sample on a mono audio track
I sent that track out analog 7 of my 8x8x8 into analog 8 of the 8x8x8
I recorded the in of analog 8 onto a new track

With Delay Compensation ON - the tracks lined up
With Delay Compensation OFF - the second tracked was delayed by 80-90 samples.


Carl
What about with the Aurora? I think that's the OPs point.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:37 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

He wanted me to see with HDX. I'm a bit surprised however because I track with if off and I thought it would be tight with it off.

C
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:40 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,065
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

I'm with you on that. Very curious.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:47 PM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,059
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Yes, I had applied any plugs with sample delays it would not have worked.

It should have been dead on with delay comp off. Furthermore, the second track was clipped although recorded at a lower volume. I don't have soft limit checked on any inputs.

Carl
__________________
PT 2019.12 HDX OMNI+HDX8x16 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.12.5 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL-GML -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:45 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,135
Default Re: Record Offset for 3rd Party Hardware? WTF!!

Carl,

Are there still tick boxes in the I/O setup input and output tabs that say something like "Compensate for delay after record pass"?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can PT9HD record more than 32 tracks with 3rd party ASIO hardware ? sersol Pro Tools 9 3 02-11-2011 08:45 AM
Record Arm Stores Offset? Pistol Pete Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-29-2010 12:06 PM
Add on third party hardware? batflash Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-14-2006 09:16 PM
different sync offset while in record?!? tomcat Post - Surround - Video 0 01-24-2005 10:16 PM
Weird offset spikes record onto audio channels. shaggy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-09-2000 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com