Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2011, 10:40 AM
studiojb studiojb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 115
Default Need to nudge?

I recorded some guitars to a click track. Then I put on a master fader with a plugin on it that causes a 64 sample delay. I had a drummer drum to the click, but forgot to deactivate the plugin with latency.

Are the drums now 64 samples behind the click?

PT7.4 Digi002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2011, 12:44 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojb View Post
I recorded some guitars to a click track. Then I put on a master fader with a plugin on it that causes a 64 sample delay. I had a drummer drum to the click, but forgot to deactivate the plugin with latency.

Are the drums now 64 samples behind the click?

PT7.4 Digi002
Yes, the drums are now 64 samples late.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2011, 08:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,841
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Yes, the drums are now 64 samples late.
The question is; can you hear the timing offset? If you can, nudging is pretty easy, with one caveat. If the audio region starts from time 00:00:000, it won't nudge any earlier because its already "against the wall". Just cut the region anywhere before the actual audio starts and then things will nudge nicely
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2011, 09:49 PM
studiojb studiojb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Need to nudge?

I think I'm pretty good at nudging. The plugin has latency of 64 (samples?), so I need to nudge the drums to the left 64 samples, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:05 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojb View Post
I think I'm pretty good at nudging. The plugin has latency of 64 (samples?), so I need to nudge the drums to the left 64 samples, correct?
That's right.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2011, 04:08 PM
studiojb studiojb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2012, 08:58 PM
studiojb studiojb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 115
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Here is a related follow-up. If I'm playing along to a prerecorded drum track, and have no plug-ins on anything, but am not in low latency, am I 1024 samples late if that is my buffer?

If it's a yes than that would mean if I have any plug ins on my master fader I would need to add these two latencies together. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:53 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,330
Default Re: Need to nudge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojb View Post
Here is a related follow-up. If I'm playing along to a prerecorded drum track, and have no plug-ins on anything, but am not in low latency, am I 1024 samples late if that is my buffer?

If it's a yes than that would mean if I have any plug ins on my master fader I would need to add these two latencies together. Correct?
I can't really give you documentation on this, but I'm shure that's a no. PT corrects the for buffer automatically. That's always been my assumption, and I never saw anything to indicate otherwise. Of course we're talking PT8 without ADC.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FYI: Nudge bug Niilo Nuori Windows 0 03-26-2012 02:12 PM
Possible to change direction of Nudge 1/Nudge 8/Nudge Bank switches? EricHirsch ICON & C|24 1 08-13-2009 08:07 AM
Nudge shultzee13 Tips & Tricks 7 04-09-2008 08:37 PM
NUDGE BUG NUDGE BUG!! Why wont you go away you little weasle?!?! Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-06-2001 11:17 PM
Nudge bug is in 5.1.1 too ripple FX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-15-2001 09:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com