Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:39 PM
gomi gomi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 233
Default awesome 6.9 bug.

Screen goes black, and then Protools starts to randomly play clips of audio from random places in
the session that was open. This happens at random intervals. And VERY often.


It sounds really cool though.

Protools 6.9 HD core and 4 process cards.
OSX 10.3.8
Dual 1GHZ MMD 2GB Ram
ATTO scsi audio drives.

Our procontrol seems to be invaded by a phantom since upgrading to 6.9 aswell..

which is also pretty funny, but not very useful.
__________________
.. gord
.. www.vfs.com
.. sound design
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2005, 02:07 PM
Jonathan Wales Jonathan Wales is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 196
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

What expansion chassis arrangement / slot order.

Any other software running other that PT and the OS?
__________________
Jonathan Wales
Sonic Magic Studios
Culver City CA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:25 PM
aborrmann aborrmann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

We used to get that with 6.4. and 6.7(every day), but not yet with 6.9.(two weeks)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2005, 06:32 PM
danickstr danickstr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 331
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

i think if you just wait for the next update, it will still be there. guess that doesn't help much, but it's the best I can offer.
__________________
If you don't like laughing at yourself, I will be happy to do it for you.

Da-nick-str = Nick Dellos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:09 AM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

In 6.7 I used to get a bug where the music would keep playing but the computer was crashed.

It would play the whole damn song.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2005, 07:05 AM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 845
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

Quote:
Screen goes black, and then Protools starts to randomly play clips of audio from random places in the session that was open. This happens at random intervals. And VERY often.

Sure sounds like drive problems to me. It's certainly not an "awesome 6.9 bug" as your post suggests, or else we'd have massive postings about it. Also the Pro Control issue (whatever it may be) suggests something more system specific than buggy.

FWIW, I've been running PT 6.9 for a couple of weeks with virtually no problems, and my Pro Control works better than it has in many releases, although it still is missing a few key commands that worked once upon a time...

rcm
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2005, 08:51 AM
gomi gomi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 233
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

Ok, so I think it's a variation of the quicktime looping bug, only it's taking audio from all over the place instead of just looping a section.
__________________
.. gord
.. www.vfs.com
.. sound design
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:10 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,635
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

gomi - have you gone through the 'General Troubleshooting' steps?

Are all drives formatted with the OSX Disk Utility?

Do you notice anything in particular that causes the problem?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:32 AM
gomi gomi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 233
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

Yes I have gone through the settings.

Keep in mind, I work at a school, and students have a knack for producing unforseeable events
I've seen them all, including some mystery things. Mostly they are all due to their sessions
be totally messed from abuse. But thats how they learn, from their own mistakes.

I have narrowed it down to a problem in their session, most likely the DV movie itself. As
this one group is the only one who is seeing this problem at the moment.

We have formatted the drives using Disk Utitily, and as per stated they are all now Journalled.

The Audio and video are running from SCSI Digidrives on an ATTO card.
__________________
.. gord
.. www.vfs.com
.. sound design
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:33 AM
gomi gomi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 233
Default Re: awesome 6.9 bug.

utitily?
man i need more coffee.
__________________
.. gord
.. www.vfs.com
.. sound design
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Awesome YYR123 Eleven Rack 2 12-26-2013 12:14 PM
Awesome JanuS Avid S6 116 09-23-2013 06:44 PM
Tapatalk is awesome :-) Stig Eliassen General Discussion 11 11-24-2010 10:02 PM
PT8 is awesome! brucecoughlin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-17-2008 06:00 PM
PT8 looks awesome!!! lifer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 10-03-2008 06:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com