Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2014, 12:31 PM
davyjune87's Avatar
davyjune87 davyjune87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 61
Default Can't create a new session

I just bought and registered a PT 10, trying to open it for the first time and it just gives me this error message :

Any help appreciated
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2014, 12:49 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Can't create a new session

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Pro+Tools%2C+assertion+error
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2014, 12:56 PM
davyjune87's Avatar
davyjune87 davyjune87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 61
Default Re: Can't create a new session

@Craig F this link doesn't work
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2014, 06:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,761
Default Re: Can't create a new session

Quote:
Originally Posted by davyjune87 View Post
@Craig F this link doesn't work
Yes it does no problem; it's an automated thing that takes one to Google, enters the search term and has Google do the search. Nothing one can't do on their own.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2014, 06:28 AM
davyjune87's Avatar
davyjune87 davyjune87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 61
Default Re: Can't create a new session

Are you telling me to use google instead of this forum ?
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2014, 06:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,761
Default Re: Can't create a new session

Quote:
Originally Posted by davyjune87 View Post
Are you telling me to use google instead of this forum ?
Not instead of but in addition to. Sometimes the search engine in this forum doesn't find what you want it to. Also the DUC, for as good as it is with the people here, isn't the only web resource there is. Google really is a great resource that even the best of us use on a regular basis. There are so many basic questions Google can answer it's incalculable; amongst them are the type of questions that get asked over and over. We're willing to help people but we also expect posters to do some work on their own.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2014, 09:24 AM
mickelini's Avatar
mickelini mickelini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 45
Default Re: Can't create a new session

Quote:
Originally Posted by davyjune87 View Post
I just bought and registered a PT 10, trying to open it for the first time and it just gives me this error message :

Any help appreciated
PT is likely not seeing your audio interface. Start PT while pressing the "n" key and select your interface. This has worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2014, 10:59 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Can't create a new session

Quote:
Originally Posted by davyjune87 View Post
Are you telling me to use google instead of this forum ?
Yes, I'm trying to teach you how to fish insted of just feeding you a fish.

Assertion Errors are a standard error you need to know how to deal with scene Pro Tools moved to OSX and are asked about weekly

Also you need to learn how to take a screen shot, I can not read your pick taken with your I'm assuming phone (shift+command+4 > spacebar > click on the message window)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:09 PM
davyjune87's Avatar
davyjune87 davyjune87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 61
Default Re: Can't create a new session

@ Craig F It's not your job to feed me or teach me how to fish !!!!!! As for google that's what I used earlier and it led me to this forum, when is PT users , so it's nice to ask PT users questions instead of the www in which case you get a lot of un professional answers ! Thirdly I do know how to take a screen shot ! Fourthly , if my questions Annoy you then Don't answer them !!!!!! And that's my fishing lesson to you !
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:20 PM
davyjune87's Avatar
davyjune87 davyjune87 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 61
Default Re: Can't create a new session

@ mickelini thanks ! Pressing the N key while starting PT and selecting my interface fixed my problem ! And also thanks for helping me instead of criticizing my post !!!!
__________________
Using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools M-Powered quits session when trying to create a new session on my MacBookPro Edavis229 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-05-2011 03:33 PM
Can't Create a New Session jjtarnow macOS 2 01-08-2011 11:16 AM
How...Create New session with Session Template TDelmar Tips & Tricks 5 10-22-2008 09:29 PM
Create a new session within a long session Jr Toad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-02-2005 03:29 PM
Cannot create new session Archie Gates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-09-2000 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com