Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Old 07-04-2017, 07:38 AM

Default All of a sudden crossfades wont work

I have been using Pro Tools 9 for a few years now with out any problems but all of a sudden crossfades wont work anymore and I havent changed the way ive recorded or set anything up. When i try to crossfade i get a message reading "one or more fade requests are invalid due to insufficient audio data within the fade bounds. You may skip the invalid fade requests, or adjust the bounds for those fades (where possible). I have tried selecting both skip fades and adjust bounds without the results im used to. Every solution i have read about dont seem to work. I have tried everything i know and am at a loss of what to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 07-04-2017, 09:12 AM

Default Re: All of a sudden crossfades wont work

2 possibilities:
1-the audio you are trying to fade has nothing past its visible edge. How do you know if there is nothing past the edge? Use the trim tool and try to drag the clip edge(to make the clip longer). If you get nothing, then there's nothing to crossfade(it took me a while to get my head around this, so don't feel bad if you have to think about it a bit)
2-trashing prefs is worth trying for any "odd behavior"

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 07-04-2017, 11:36 AM

Yes trashing prefs sounds like a winner.....

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...s-preferences/
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Old 07-05-2017, 12:04 PM

MODS this probably should be moved to the PT9 discussion.
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue