Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:33 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 567
Default HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Updated to 8.0.3 first, then at the same time I installed Waves Gold Native Bundle. Now on playback I get pops and clicks at various parts of a track. I'm able to isolate the tracks, but don't know what is causing it...
__________________
Mid-2007 2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Dynaudio Monitors and KRK Sub
Line6 HX Stomp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:38 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

installing 8.0.3 probably reset your playback engine.

Try increasing your HW Buffer size, and CPU % and see if that helps.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2009, 03:09 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 567
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingFish View Post
installing 8.0.3 probably reset your playback engine.

Try increasing your HW Buffer size, and CPU % and see if that helps.
King Fish, thanks I did set buffer size and CPU - plus I had to trash prefs...

I think I found the culprit!!!!!! I have Elastic Audio ENABLED = Ticks/Rhythmic (Tempo is set to 120).

When I disable Elastic Audio the POP on this specific track goes away.

Is anyone else seeing Elastic Audio issues w/ 8.0.3???
__________________
Mid-2007 2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Dynaudio Monitors and KRK Sub
Line6 HX Stomp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:02 AM
whitepapagold whitepapagold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

YES!!!!! I AM!!!!!

But I didn't realise it was elastic audio as the culprit... And surprise- the poping tracks for me ARE using elastic audio!

Thanks for the confirmation! On my thread about the same thing I have a bunch of people telling me to trash my prefs and I keep arguing its not that simple and its a coding issue!!!! I knew I was right!!!!

But you are not alone and its 100% a BUG!!!!!!!!! I thought it only happened the first day I updated but it happened again last night!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:20 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,719
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepapagold View Post
YES!!!!! I AM!!!!!

But I didn't realise it was elastic audio as the culprit... And surprise- the poping tracks for me ARE using elastic audio!

Thanks for the confirmation! On my thread about the same thing I have a bunch of people telling me to trash my prefs and I keep arguing its not that simple and its a coding issue!!!! I knew I was right!!!!

But you are not alone and its 100% a BUG!!!!!!!!! I thought it only happened the first day I updated but it happened again last night!
Do you possibly have fades or other edits on your EA tracks?

If so - it's not a bug. It's a limitation of EA and is described in the EA section of the Pro Tools Reference Guide.

If that's not the case, however, we'd like to get a better description of your session so we can try to reproduce this - even better if we can get the session itself.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2009, 06:43 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 567
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Digi, I'd be glad to send you (if you have a FTP site) the session.
The session was not changed (i.e. edits / etc...). It was recorded on PT HD, and is being mixed on PT LE 8.0.1cs2. I then upgraded to 8.0.3 and then started hearing all these pops/clicks...

If I had out-board digital gear (which I don't) I could swear it was a clocking issue... which is what lead me to disable Elastic Audio.

The clicks are identical to when clocking is not synchronized... I searched through every plug, Waves, Izotope and even looked at the session to make sure all clocking was set to my 003... My trouble shooting led me to think, if clocking would cause these "digital" clicks and pops, would Elastic Audio do that too??? I mean, I'm changing the formant and transient on a time line... Did code change on 8.0.3 that is not processing this code correctly?

So, when I disabled elastic audio - the pops and clicks went a way.

Long story short - session was fine with elastic audio enabled. Upgraded to 8.0.3 and then pops and clicks started happening. I could isolate each track and find out where it was happening. It didn't matter if I routed to a bus, or to outputs 1/2.

Now what I haven't tested was creating a NEW session w/ 8.0.3 with Elastic Audio enabled. My suspicion is that 8.0.3 is going to handle a new session w/out issue.

I'll gladly provide more detailed information if it helps.

Thanks you for taking time to respond to this thread.
p
__________________
Mid-2007 2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Dynaudio Monitors and KRK Sub
Line6 HX Stomp
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2009, 06:45 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 567
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

P.S. the pops and clicks did NOT occur on tracks that had edits or fades.
__________________
Mid-2007 2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Dynaudio Monitors and KRK Sub
Line6 HX Stomp
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,719
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

You can send the session to us at : vi [at] digidesign [dot] com.

Upload using any number of free file hosting services and send us the link. Include the thread number (262371) in both the email subject and the name of the files/folders you're uploading.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:32 PM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 567
Default Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Thanks, I'll update the thread after I upload.
__________________
Mid-2007 2.4 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac
OS: 10.7.5 (Snow Leopard)
4gb (667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM)
LaCie Audio Drive - FW800
DigiDesign 003 Factory PT10.3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS
Dynaudio Monitors and KRK Sub
Line6 HX Stomp
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2010, 08:44 AM
zOap zOap is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Thumbs up Re: HELP!!! Pops and Clicks

Exact same problem here. upgraded to 8.0.3 yesterday and today all my recordings(internal busrecordings) had wordclock-out-of-sync-like crackles. Disabled elastic audio on the recording track and issue was gone. Good god, I was afraid that my 003 died, pheew.!!

Thanks for the tip, it really saved my day :)
__________________
----

Mac Pro 4,1 32GB RAM(10.6.8)
Euphonix MC Control, MC Mix

Pro Tools 10.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicks and Pops Jamesmi Windows 0 05-05-2012 10:09 AM
clicks and pops keithaska 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2009 06:00 PM
Fed Up With Clicks and Pops.... s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 06-26-2005 02:21 PM
6.2.2 pops and clicks auckland yobbo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-13-2004 10:35 AM
Pops and Clicks timbo1437 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-19-2000 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com