Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2017, 02:54 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 620
Default Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

It makes zero sense to me why the following plugins are included in the Diamond Bundle but not the Horizon Bundle. The plugins I'm referring to specifically are:

NLS Non-Linear Summer
WLM Plus Loudness Meter
X-Click
X-Crackle
X-Hum
X-Noise
Z-Noise

It was my understanding Horizon was an upgrade from Diamond and that everything in Diamond was included in Horizon just as everything included in Silver is in Gold, everything included in Gold is in Platinum, everything included in Platinum is in Diamond and everything included in Horizon is in Mercury. The hierarchy is as follows:

Silver
Gold
Platinum
Diamond
Horizon
Mercury

Am I missing something or is this just an error on Waves part?
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Mojave PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2, Slate VMS ML-1. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2017, 06:25 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

Horizon isn't exactly an upgrade from Diamond in the same way that Diamond is an upgrade from Platinum or that Platinum is an upgrade from Gold.

They sort of sit parallel to each other. But Diamond seems to be geared more towards mastering and post production (with the noise reduction and metering plugins) while Horizon is geared more towards music production (with the extra signature series plugins).

If you have iZotope RX, it seems that Horizon might be the better upgrade from Platinum.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2019.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2017, 08:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,399
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

Indeed, I made a similar discovery when I bought the GOLD bundle. I had the SILVER bundle and that GOLD would have everything(so I could sell the SILVER bundle), but it was not quite what I thought
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2017, 01:18 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 787
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

It is a little confusing. I guess it's the old adage of "buyer beware".

Of courser this is only a problem if you rush to resell your older bundle instead of holding on to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2017, 10:09 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
It is a little confusing. I guess it's the old adage of "buyer beware".

Of courser this is only a problem if you rush to resell your older bundle instead of holding on to it.
Every time I have upgraded my Waves Bundles, they only bundle has been rolled over into the new one, and does not stay in the account.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2019.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2017, 05:12 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 462
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

I had Diamond and then I upgraded for maybe $100 or so to Horizon with Restoration + NLS.

If you have Diamond and go to Upgrades you'll get something like:

Horizon + Restoration + WLM + NLS

I found it very confusing as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2017, 07:54 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: Waves Plugins in Diamond missing from Horizon?!!

AFAIK - WLM is in Diamond but not in Horizon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Waves Horizon starlingmusic Buy & Sell 5 11-24-2016 07:32 AM
Waves plugins for sale: Diamond, Platinum, SSL, API (SoundGrid) +WUP AudioElementsLLC Buy & Sell 5 08-26-2014 06:59 PM
Waves Horizon kills Diamond die-heart fans... poem Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-06-2010 10:59 PM
Waves plugins missing Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-28-2008 01:02 PM
Waves diamond plugins - how to use them? masta1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-30-2007 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com