Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2001, 06:43 AM
vinylist vinylist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Posts: 21
Default ADC and Cinema Displays

I just ordered a new Mac with a 15" cinema display and I've been concerned about placement of the display, given that there is no extension cord available yet.

Does anyone out there own a 15" Cinema Display who will tell me what the actual length of the cable is that is installed from the factory?

Thanks,
Anton
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2001, 11:33 PM
mustafatron mustafatron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: tulsa,ok,usa
Posts: 64
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

check out www.gefen.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2001, 11:49 PM
hmccabe hmccabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tempe, Arizona, United States
Posts: 99
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

I have the Apple G4 with the 15" studio display, and the cable with it is just about 1 meter. Depending on your studio setup, it could work just fine. I've had mine since November and I haven't even thought about an extension cable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2001, 05:08 AM
vinylist vinylist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Posts: 21
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

1 meter! Is that all! That wouldn't even reach over my desk to the floor, I'll have to mount the tower on top of my desk.

Ya know, I'm kinda pissed. I decide to jump over and buy a Mac(for about $6,500 for only 733 MHz!), then find out I have to spend $400.00 to even hook up my monitor in a reasonable way.

Are you sure just 1 meter?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2001, 11:10 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

1 meter monitor cable lengths are not a "Mac-specific" thing. I have a 21" monitor for my pc (Dell) that has a 1 meter cable.

Try a VGA extender cable ($12 or so). That's what I've been using with my Mac. It seems to work fine and I remember reading some posts about other people using standard VGA extender cables with their flat-screen monitors with no problems.

If you want to extend it 60 ft, then you'll probably need a more expensive option, but a 2 meter extender might be just fine for you.


------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2001, 09:06 AM
PGrealy PGrealy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 43
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

I have a 15" apple display.

It is more like 2.2 metres long.

My G4 is in a closet and the screen is on my worksurface.

This has helped me to reduce the fan noise.

I would like to get an extension cable if and when one becomes available.
Regards

__________________
PFG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2001, 09:08 AM
PGrealy PGrealy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 43
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays


additionally

A VGA extender won't work since the ADC is proprietary to MAC.

------------------
PFG
__________________
PFG
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2001, 03:42 PM
vinylist vinylist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Posts: 21
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

Thanks, PFG

2.2 meters isn't as long as I'd like it but sounds a lot more reasonable. I bought a Marathon G-Mount to rack mount the G4 when it arrives and would like the cable to reach from the back of the rack around my workstation desk, but at least with 2.2m I can mount the display and keyboard on top of the rack, until someone figures out a way to extend the ADC without a conpromise in quality and for less than $375.00!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2001, 07:23 PM
Dead River Studio Dead River Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 330
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

I'd be pissed too! That should be a cheap option when your buying that highend system. But we all know how the cable makers "rack us over the @#$!%$#@% coals with their prices, especially speaker cables!
__________________
My studio... http://www.deadriverstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2001, 12:47 AM
Kerry C Kerry C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Westminster, CO, USA
Posts: 108
Default Re: ADC and Cinema Displays

Quote:
Originally posted by vinylist:
Mac(for about $6,500 for only 733 MHz!),
Sounds kinda pricey, but if you're coming from a PC world, know that you can double that processor speed to equate it to a PC. 733 Mac's are as fast as or faster than 1.5 Ghz P4's in many apps.

Later,
kc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are 2 cinema displays possible on a G4? Natural Sound General Discussion 1 09-01-2006 03:16 AM
Apple cinema displays? banana boy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-20-2004 04:47 AM
2 cinema displays!!! Great Divide Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-05-2002 09:37 AM
2 Cinema Displays Now Possible! spookyvoodoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-08-2002 07:55 AM
LCD Displays (Cinema in particular) The Mink Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-05-2001 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com