Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2010, 02:18 PM
guitarwubs guitarwubs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default pro tools hangs up at creating dae objects when loading

I purchased a digidesign 003 rack + factory about a month and a half ago. I have not been able to get Pro Tools 8 working right on my computer. At first, I was able to get it running and it would work ok (this is after I purchased the recommended SIIG firewire card). After installing the free plug ins that came with it, i have been having more problems.

Upon start up, Pro Tools hangs on "creating dae objects". I have done research in the DUC and have tried whatever I have seen. I fear that the problem is my computer.

I have run a Sandra report:

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 1525
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Lindbloms
User : Darrin

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz
Speed : 2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 0U990C
BIOS : Dell A16 10/16/2008
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB PCMCIA USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3GB DDR2 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 166MHz (664MHz)
Total Memory : 3GB DDR2 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 8MB
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 332MHz (664MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HYMP112S64CP6-Y5 1GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HYMP125S64CP8-Y5 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family (8 SP 500MHz, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
TOSHIBA MK2552GSX (250GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 233GB (C:) (D:)
PBDS DVD+/-RW DS-8W1P (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
RECOVERY (D:) : 10GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK2552GSX (250GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
OS (C:) : 221GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK2552GSX (250GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ PBDS DVD+/-RW DS-8W1P (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell ICH8M-E (ICH8) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond WPCE775LA
Audio Device : Dell 82801H (ICH8) HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Conexant 2C06h
Audio Codec : Silicon Image (CMD Technology) 1392h
Audio Codec : Sigmatel 7616h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Dell 82801H (ICH8) Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
Disk Controller : Dell Mobile SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Dell SD Bus Host Adapter
USB Controller 1 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB UHCI #4
USB Controller 2 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB UHCI #5
USB Controller 3 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB2 EHCI #2
USB Controller 4 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB UHCI #1
USB Controller 5 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB UHCI #2
USB Controller 6 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB UHCI #3
USB Controller 7 : Dell 82801H (ICH8) USB2 EHCI #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell R5C832 IEEE-1394 Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : hp psc 1200 series (USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
Wireless Adapter 1 : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows Vista Home 6.00.6002 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance : x86

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 3.4


IS IT ME, MY COMPUTER, OR WHAT?? I'm very frustrated. I am not the most computer savy person and am afraid that my computer is wrong for Pro Tools. If it is, can it be corrected easily, or am I better off getting another computer. And, if so, will I have these problems with a MAC?

Thanks for you time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2010, 06:30 PM
Jrestes927 Jrestes927 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 30
Default Re: pro tools hangs up at creating dae objects when loading

I had the same problem - on a Windows XP machine, which met all of Digi's specs.

Here's what I did:

1.) Follow the instructions for deleting DAE preferences, folders, etc. (search around for this and you'll find multiple pages with these instructions)

2.) CUT-paste (don't copy) all of the DAE*.* files out of your Pro Tools directory...just onto your desktop or something

3.) Try booting Pro Tools. If you get any sort of error message about not being able to find a file, copy ONLY the DAE.dll file back into your Pro tools directory.

4.) Boot Pro Tools. It should boot up fine (at least mine did)

5.) Close Pro Tools

6.) Copy the rest of the files which you had previously moved out of the Pro Tools directory (from step #2) back into the pro tools directory

7.) Your Pro Tools should now work normally (mine has for weeks now)


I'm not totally sure why this works - but it has, and that makes me happy.
__________________
Intel i7-4820K, 16GB RAM
128GB SSD (system)
1TB 5400 rpm hard-drive (audio drive)
Pro Tools HD 2018
Universal Audio Apollo Twin w/ Black Lion Audio Premium Modification
Focusrite 18i8 w/ Black Lion Audio Modification
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:58 AM
guitarwubs guitarwubs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: pro tools hangs up at creating dae objects when loading

Thanks for the info.
I was able to get a workaround from the "dae objects" problem. I turned the 003 on after my computer was turned on and pro tools starts right up.

However, I have experienced a host of errors. All involving "hardware buffer size". I can record or play for a minute or two before I get the message and it stops playing or recording.

I still think that my computer might not be compatible, however, I can't figure it out myself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:14 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: pro tools hangs up at creating dae objects when loading

You only have one harddrive listed... and it's too slow.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:50 PM
guitarwubs guitarwubs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: pro tools hangs up at creating dae objects when loading

Sorry for not replying sooner. I have been very busy.

I am recording to an external hard drive (glyph, it meets the specs). Looks like I failed to note that in my original post. Does the hard drive on my computer have any effect on Pro Tools if I use the external drive?

I spent most of last Saturday tweaking and playing around with settings. I have a dual core processer and was only using one core. I thought that is what I read to do. It works better using both cores.


I found a performance tool for Ricoh that I hadn't seen before. The firewire interface that is intergral to my laptop is a Ricoh. I am using a SIIG firewire interface for my 003 and external harddrive. I could not get Pro Tools to work if I disabled the Ricoh firewire in the device manager (even though I didn't think I was using it), so I had to leave it on. Once I downloaded the Ricoh performance tool, everything seemed to work fine.

Everything appears to be working fine right now. However, I haven't put it to use for more than 3-4 hours. I hope this was the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT LE 8.0.3 Won't Start up! (hangs on "creating DAE objects) 003worksforme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-07-2010 09:39 AM
PT 7.4.2 hangs on creating DAE Objects. mikeyb91599 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-19-2009 03:57 PM
PT 7.4.2 hangs when creating DAE objects mikeyb91599 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-29-2009 05:57 AM
System Hangs on "Creating DAE Objects" In Vista 32 w/ Digi003 Rostafunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-19-2009 02:18 PM
PTLE Hangs with "Creating DAE objects" Alvin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-06-2005 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com