Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2004, 04:50 PM
lexusboy lexusboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2
Default Should I buy an Mbox???

Hi,

I am a digi001 user, who wants a mobile recording setup. I purchased my digi001 almost three years ago and to this day I only use one audio input for my synth and another for my mic plus the midi in. Plus the monitor outs for my Reveals. I currently use a G4 power mac. I am really pleased how it performs and the sound quality is great. However I feel it's a waste that I don't use half of the inputs and outputs when I can have something mobile and small because I really dont have space for a lot of junk including monitors. Ive been reading reviews on the Mbox and I am having diffuclties understanding the monitoring and latency issues. Basically I just want to record audio and midi tracks one at a time. I want to know if i'll be able to use some small edirol monitors(digital speakers) to listen to everything thats going on in pro tools while I record. Is it true that the Mbox dosen't have a volume control? Will the latency issue hinder the way I work? I understand I'll need a midi interface. I will be using the Mbox on my powermac G4 in the meantime, until I purchase a powerbook. How do some of you use your Mbox, and how satisfied are you with it? I'd appreciate any words of advice before I end up taking the plunge. Thanks in advance!

Eddie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:14 PM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: Should I buy an Mbox???

Hi!
I'm a former digi 001 user too. I think the mbox is better. It sounds better than 001. When you record audio, you can record (whithout realtime plugins) whith zero latency. This is the greatest, if your a player who thinks time is important! Whith midi (I use a emagic mt-4 whithout any problems) you'll have a little more latency than with the 001. 256 samples is cool (5.8 ms) 512 samples is also cool for me, but I'm no pianoplayer. You can insert a compressor, straight to the preamp. A cool mbox feature only. I don't miss the 001. And I would not trade my mbox for a 002. That's how happy I am with it!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:28 PM
Twinstream Twinstream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas, everywhere
Posts: 153
Default Re: Should I buy an Mbox???

I bought a Mbox. I also bought Logic 6. When mobile If i have a heavy audio session its Pro Tools so I carry the Mbox. If I have intense mobile midi editing needs then Logic 6 (a pair of headphones and XSKEY). I have no problem carrying the Mbox in my Laptop case. I have concern about its durability. I am leaning toward Logic more because I plan to buy a Remote 25. There are some nice audio cards such as http://www.echoaudio.com/Products/IndigoIO/index.php for a Powerbook that would work with Logic for adding input and ouput. Quite honestly, I prefer both platforms and enjoy working with each.

Latency is workable with the Mbox. Yes you need a additional midi interface, cables, mics, controller, speakers, etc....etc...

If you are mobile on the ground it makes a difference too as you can bring more stuff than if you fly like I do.

Pro Tools is great for audio and Logic is great for midi.....now if I could just get the IAC bus working!

__________________
its 12:30 in the morning ...
are you going to bed?
G4 733 Ti 1Ghz 001 Mbox LE6.4 OSX 10.3.8 QT 6.9 XP80 XV2020 Midiman 2 POD2 Logic 6.43
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2004, 05:44 PM
AdamF AdamF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 305
Default Re: Should I buy an Mbox???

For mobile mbox is great... you can run more plugs on the digi 001 though.. I have a brand new mbox?? wanna trade??
__________________
My Website
My Setup
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated Mac Drivers for Mbox, Mbox Pro and Fast Track Ultra now available Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-30-2012 05:24 PM
Mbox mix knob always plays a drum track,Mbox 2 and Pro-tools LE 8: Haezel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2011 03:58 AM
Digi Tech Suppport? Pfft!!! Mbox/Mbox academic Questions WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 02:03 PM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 09:18 PM
Mbox - Routing the computers audio through the mbox ie. CD Rom, system sounds brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com