Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2004, 04:11 PM
spartacus spartacus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 68
Default Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton?

I posted this in the Mac forum, but maybe I'll have better luck here.

I am trying to set up the MIDI patch names for my Korg Triton (Note: NOT the Triton Studio) and have already placed the required "midnam" file in its proper location on my hard drive. However - I just found out that that the ol' Triton must ALSO be added to the "middev" file in order to work.

Yes, I understand that I can open the "middev" file with Apple's text editor and add the code myself. Only problem - I am not a programmer, and I figure that if someone else has already worked through this problem, maybe they would be a pal and e-mail me or post the lines of code on the DUC that I need to insert. Basically, I'm trying to take my tendency to foul up things like this out of the equation.

Anybody help a brother out?

P.S. I don't know who's to blame,Digidesign or Korg, but for Triton's flagship product to be left out of the pre-included list of synths that are already mapped out has me scratching my head...oh well!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2004, 06:18 PM
Twinstream Twinstream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas, everywhere
Posts: 153
Default Re: Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton?

Have your tried http://digicake.com/midnam/

__________________
its 12:30 in the morning ...
are you going to bed?
G4 733 Ti 1Ghz 001 Mbox LE6.4 OSX 10.3.8 QT 6.9 XP80 XV2020 Midiman 2 POD2 Logic 6.43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:59 AM
spartacus spartacus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 68
Default Re: Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton?

Yes. That page gets you the midnam file, but doesn't help with the middev modification. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2004, 11:48 AM
Twinstream Twinstream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kansas, everywhere
Posts: 153
Default Re: Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton?

Hi,

Sorry, misunderstood. So you are trying to add the Triton to the default middev file? If I am correct you should not have to modify the default file at all. Just add a new device, name it exactly the same name as your midnam file lists it as manufacturer and model. Set all your midi channels 1-16 to send and receive and set your device id number. At least that is what I have done with both my Roland XP80 and Roland XV2020. You can even find a graphic off the internet to use to add to the file that has all the default graphics in it.

I may be way off on this though....as I have no experience with the Triton....Good Luck !



__________________
its 12:30 in the morning ...
are you going to bed?
G4 733 Ti 1Ghz 001 Mbox LE6.4 OSX 10.3.8 QT 6.9 XP80 XV2020 Midiman 2 POD2 Logic 6.43
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2004, 02:36 PM
spartacus spartacus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 68
Default Re: Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton?

Cool. I'll give it a try tonight and see if that does the job. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard Key Modifying? Keith Moore Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-01-2007 07:14 AM
Korg Triton LE.midman file anyone? Tanglewoodstu MIDI 3 01-26-2005 08:50 AM
Modifying middev file - you done this for Triton? spartacus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-14-2004 09:49 AM
I need to find Triton Midnam file!! bigmac2003 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-31-2003 02:08 AM
Roland XV 5080 or Triton rack or Triton workstation? Jim S MIDI 10 03-16-2001 01:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com