Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2003, 03:02 PM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Error Code -50 When copying to Firewire HD

Anybody know what this is???? I keep getting it when copying stuff from internal HD to Firewire. "Cannot copy due to error code -50". It has happened on two different macs (running OSX) and with 4 completely different drives (EZQuest, LaCie norm & PocketDrive, Quantegy)

It's very annoying, especially as the drives always have MORE than enough free space. It is not consistant either. It'll copy onto one drive, but not another.

Apple site doesn't even recognise an error code -50. Only 51! What is that all about???!!!!

Really don't want to have to wait for a DVD-R to burn every time I want to move stuff around. Isn't that the idea of Firewire?????


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2003, 04:45 PM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Re: Error Code -50 When copying to Firewire HD

Anybody???

I have tried running Disk Utility on both drives, repairing permissions. Also, Disk Warrior 3 on both, but still nothing..........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2003, 05:28 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Error Code -50 When copying to Firewire HD

How did you format the drives? Did you follow the Digi directions in the AnswerBase?

A OS9 error -50 is paramErr - Error in user Parameter list

Sounds like it's permission related.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2018, 06:45 PM
AmyBuckland620Yr AmyBuckland620Yr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: lowa usa
Posts: 1
Default Re: Error Code -50 When copying to Firewire HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by derF View Post
Anybody know what this is???? I keep getting it when copying stuff from internal HD to Firewire. "Cannot copy due to error code -50". It has happened on two different macs (running OSX) and with 4 completely different drives (EZQuest, LaCie norm & PocketDrive, Quantegy)

It's very annoying, especially as the drives always have MORE than enough free space. It is not consistant either. It'll copy onto one drive, but not another.

Apple site doesn't even recognise an error code -50. Only 51! What is that all about???!!!!

Really don't want to have to wait for a DVD-R to burn every time I want to move stuff around. Isn't that the idea of Firewire?????
Error code 50 on Mac might be related to hardware issues. Therefore, you may need to reset the Parameter RAM (PRAM) or/and system management controller (SMC). However, you should opt for this option only if none of the above methods have worked for you.

Before following the instructions below, you should backup your system or important data only in order to avoid possible information loss.

Follow these steps to reset PRAM:

Turn of your Mac.

Press the power button.
Immediately hold down the Command + Option + P + R keys until your computer reboots, and you hear the startup sound TWICE.
Once you hear the sound, you can release the keys. The PRAM has been reset.
In case, all the above steps will not work to fix this Mac error code 50, then you should Check this URL.
https://www.errorsolutions.tech/error/error-code-50/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2018, 12:36 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: Error Code -50 When copying to Firewire HD

Woah!

15 year thread bump to post a reply.

That must be a forum record.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
os10.3.5 (error code -36) when copying files to dv Kris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 02-27-2007 06:44 PM
Error -36 when copying pro tools sessions from DVD Killah Kane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-14-2007 07:38 PM
-39 error when copying session Breck Post - Surround - Video 5 05-17-2006 11:58 AM
Firewire copying problem Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-18-2003 08:45 AM
Error code 9073 / OWC Firewire Drive 8Ball_Studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-11-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com