Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2001, 03:03 PM
el biciclista el biciclista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 513
Default RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

My home studio setup is:

Digi001/PTLE w/Waves
G4 450
Yamaha 01v
Roland 2080
Axon AX100 guitar MIDI controller
Roland A-33 keyboard controller
Boss DR-660 drum machine
Genelec 1030A monitors
Mics: CAD E100, Sennheiser 421-II, Shure 57, 58A.

My son wants to set up a similar studio in his home, and he has asked for my advice on equipment.

I am very happy with my setup (thanks to a LOT of help from this discussion group), but when I look hard at how I use the 01v I wonder if I should advise him to buy one. I LOVE the ease of working with the 01v, but I really only use it as a router and monitor. I lay down one track at a time: drum MIDI, bass MIDI, keyboard MIDI, any other MIDI; miked guitar rhythm, miked vocals, miked guitar lead. I do all my mixing in Protools w/Waves, so I waste much of the strength of the 01v. I go out and back to the 01v busses for mixing sometimes, but several in this discussion group have questioned my sanity on that. So, I would just use the protools busses if I didn't have the 01v.

After searching through MANY threads in this user group, I am wondering if it wouldn't be better to buy the RME ADI-8 Pro plus the Neve 1272 (or another quality 2-in preamp) instead of the 01v. The 8-in/8-out ADAT cables I have between the 01v and digi001 could be connected between the ADI-8 and 001, and I would have better: A/D, D/A, and preamp.

What is NOT clear to me is how you would monitor with this setup. After spending the money on the ADI-8 D/As, I would definitely want to use a pair for monitoring. I normally monitor with the 01v: an analog pair from the 2080 playing the drum, bass, and keyboard tracks (as directed by 001 MIDI messages); the 001 audio tracks as a stereo pair; and the miked audio signal I am recording GOING INTO the 001 (no latency). This is easy to do with the 01v, of course.

Questions:
(1) Am I way off base here? Am I missing something important in thinking about giving up the 01v altogether?

(2) How do you monitor with the ADI-8 Pro? Are there busses and routing options in the ADI-8 Pro to enable monitoring? Or do I need another box to do this somehow?

Thanks!
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2001, 03:26 PM
dabu2012 dabu2012 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 82
Default Re: RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

I don't see the use of even having a mixer if you are only gonna be recording 1 or 2 tracks at a time. Of course it makes routing easier but it is not necessary. Nor do I think that an 8 in 8 out ad/da converter is necessary either. But another converter and pre amp other than the digi 001 is necessary. There are alot of converters that are only 2 in and 2 out. If you do DUC search you will find alot of info about this. You just have to find out what works for you. I don't think you could go wrong with an rme and neve, you just have to figure out will those things do everything you want them to.

dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2001, 04:09 PM
el biciclista el biciclista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 513
Default Re: RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

dabu,
Part of my inclination toward the 8-in/8-out is convenience. I currently can leave a pair of analog inputs from the 2080 plugged into the 01v, as well as: a pair of mic inputs, a pair of inputs from my audio receiver, an input from the computer, and an audio input from the drum machine.

I could certainly do the job with only two inputs, but it sure is easier to leave everything plugged and just route with the 01v busses. Maybe I'll have to give up this convenience without the 01v. That's one thing I am trying to understand better.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2001, 04:52 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

I haven't used a digital mixer with my 001, I have a 32x8 Mackie which is used 99% of the time for strickly monitoring purposes (to eliminate recording latency).

You could do the same thing with a little 1204 or 1404 Mackie. I just split the external mic preamp output and run it into the 001 (actually it runs into my RME now) as well as a line in on the Mackie. The Mackie also receives the 001 main output: hence, no latency.

I do think the RME (I have the Nuendo version) improves the sound a LOT (kind of like going from 16 to 24 bits).
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2001, 10:15 PM
parker9 parker9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 164
Default Re: RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

biciclista,

I've got the RME ADI-8 and the Yamaha 01V, and like lwilliam I prefer the ADI converters to the 01V.

There aren't really many routing options with the RME so its use as a mixer is limited. In your son's situation I would probably opt for a cheap used small mackie to use for monitoring. You could use the RME as your analog/optical ins and out and normal the Roland into it.

Good luck
__________________
Through the power and charm of music the spirit of man is uplifted. `Abdu'l-Baha
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2001, 07:46 PM
jpd52 jpd52 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 168
Default Re: RME ADI-8 Pro/Neve 1272 to replace Yamaha 01v?

Running through the ADI-8 Pro into O1V, is a beautiful thing. In copy mode you get a crystal clear signal, and have all the flexibility of the 01V's processors should you need to save juice on the 001. Who cares if you only use a couple of channels. The options are worth it. It's keeping me happy me enough to be keeping my wallet in my pocket before running out and upping the ante to Mix Plus. However, I wouldn't scoff at anything Neve. I'm simply not familiar with that unit. Good luck, I don't think you can lose with the options you are considering. Jon Pousette-Dart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried Vintech 1272 preamp (neve repro) spong General Discussion 2 02-11-2002 12:13 AM
Neve Preamp 1272????? sugarfuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 32 11-05-2001 04:26 AM
Neve 1272: Averill or Vintech Dopamine Tips & Tricks 3 05-26-2001 12:53 AM
Neve 1272 mic pres dan wool Tips & Tricks 15 03-03-2001 07:25 AM
Amek 9098 vs. Neve 1272 Sound Quality music Tips & Tricks 5 12-10-1999 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com