Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2016, 01:47 PM
Jcalla Jcalla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Default Updating Waves plugins??

So I've just noticed that I've never received any kind of message from Waves indicating that an update is available for one of the plugins I've purchased.

I've never renewed my update plan but most of the Waves plugins I've purchased are less than a year old, so I should still get updates for them, right?
Some I've had for over a year (the SSL for example) and I never received anything saying there's an update for them.

I read in an old thread that some people used to download the offline installer and install the plugins again but ever since Waves launched its Central app they stopped providing offline installers.

Anyone got any experience updating Waves plugins??
__________________
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 16 GB RAM, macOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools 2019.10
Logic Pro X 10.5
REAPER
Apollo Twin DUO MKII
UAD-2 Satellite QUAD Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2016, 03:07 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,705
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Log in to your Waves account waves.com
Go to My Products or Get Latest Version
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2016, 05:33 PM
Jcalla Jcalla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Already tried that. It says there are no updates, like it always does. I attached a photo of all the possibilities sited on the website.

I find it hard to believe that the SSL plugin or the Puigchild received no updates throughout an entire year. I do get a year of updates when I first buy the plugin, don't I?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-06-20 at 3.30.19 AM.png (29.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 16 GB RAM, macOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools 2019.10
Logic Pro X 10.5
REAPER
Apollo Twin DUO MKII
UAD-2 Satellite QUAD Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2016, 06:12 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,826
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Just a FYI:

Some of the waves plugins hasn't been updated for years except for a few bugfixes once every two years so the updates that waves do release are usually nothing other than a little house cleaning so no surprise there.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2016, 06:41 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

I'm pretty sure ALL plugs received updates in the last year. If nothing else, I know they all got the ability to copy/paste from the waves toolbar

If in question, just go into Central and go to install, and install all your products - which will install the latest versions for ya

As far as receiving updates - even if you are out of WUP you get ALL updates to your plugs all the way through your version. So if you had 9 at day 1 on 9.0.0, even out of WUP you get every single update release .x.x until 10. The only exception is that if you are out of WUP you would not get any new plugins added to your bundles if applicable.

:)
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2016, 06:49 PM
Jcalla Jcalla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Table Syrup Records View Post
I'm pretty sure ALL plugs received updates in the last year. If nothing else, I know they all got the ability to copy/paste from the waves toolbar

If in question, just go into Central and go to install, and install all your products - which will install the latest versions for ya

As far as receiving updates - even if you are out of WUP you get ALL updates to your plugs all the way through your version. So if you had 9 at day 1 on 9.0.0, even out of WUP you get every single update release .x.x until 10. The only exception is that if you are out of WUP you would not get any new plugins added to your bundles if applicable.

:)
Thanks for clearing this up! Only way to be sure you have the latest version is to reinstall them every couple months I guess…
__________________
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 16 GB RAM, macOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools 2019.10
Logic Pro X 10.5
REAPER
Apollo Twin DUO MKII
UAD-2 Satellite QUAD Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2016, 11:23 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcalla View Post
Thanks for clearing this up! Only way to be sure you have the latest version is to reinstall them every couple months I guess…
Release notes page is helpful. I regularly check it to see if I need an update. Waves updates quite often to address known issues, but I do not install _every_ update, because it might concern only plugins I don't have.

All current updates within version 9 are working here too without WUP.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2016, 11:26 AM
Jcalla Jcalla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 95
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
Release notes page is helpful. I regularly check it to see if I need an update. Waves updates quite often to address known issues, but I do not install _every_ update, because it might concern only plugins I don't have.

All current updates within version 9 are working here too without WUP.
I knew I saw a release notes page once but couldn't find it again! Thanks a lot!
__________________
Mac Pro (Late 2013), 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 16 GB RAM, macOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools 2019.10
Logic Pro X 10.5
REAPER
Apollo Twin DUO MKII
UAD-2 Satellite QUAD Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2016, 12:26 PM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcalla View Post
I knew I saw a release notes page once but couldn't find it again! Thanks a lot!
Welcome :) It is under DOWNLOADS menu on their site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2016, 10:40 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,343
Default Re: Updating Waves plugins??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
Welcome :) It is under DOWNLOADS menu on their site.
Yeah - Waves doesn't make it easy to see if one has the latest version or not. A simple thing of 'click here on the plugin gui to see plugin info' and then you go to the Waves site and see what's the latest version.

I don't subscribe to the notion of having to have the latest version of whatever plugin I'm using. If it works then don't muck about with it. Remember that those who live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves 7 updating unclear? EvilElfBoy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-02-2009 10:19 AM
Updating Plugins lunatic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 09-21-2009 04:17 PM
Updating HD7.2 to HD7.4. Will plugins need updating? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-14-2009 04:02 AM
Updating UAD plugins gordy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-06-2005 02:44 PM
Updating 002 Waves 3.5 Bundle to OSX PT 6? mznyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-21-2003 09:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com