Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2010, 09:08 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Exclamation Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !!!

Hi Everyone !!
I think we've got it ... ! I think we've located the problem, at least on our computer. I hope it helps the other ones having this bizzare issue.
Remember the issue with the MacBookPro and MBox ?
Anyway, to make a long story short this is what was happening back then :
- only one USB port next to the power supply socket on the laptop worked efficiently with MBox.
The other USB port on a MacBookPro caused tons of issues with MBox series similar to our current test setup with iMac 27 inch, i7 2.8 GHz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD.
I have noticed tonight by switching USB ports, that MBox 2 mini was plugged into caused the box either work fine, or not at all !!
Namely: you can NOT plug anything into USB port on iMac i7 that is the closest to the headphones input on the iMac.
MBox 2 mini runs fine when it's plugged into USB port the closest to the FW 800 outlet.
At the same time only one or two USB ports that are next to it can be used at the same time by another devices ( in my case iLok, and printer). But never three. All USB outputs CAN NOT be used simultaneously, when MBox 2 series device is plugged in.
If you plug ANYTHING to the USB port closest to the headphones output on iMac, the system suddenly freezes ( not necessarily MBox 2. Can be printer, MIDI interface etc.), and the scary window appears prompting you to restart your computer !!!!
I spend two hours tonight, out of curiosity testing different combinations of USB ports on my newest iMac, and I can corroborate the results here on DUC. ( Normally I use 002 with this setup. MBox 2 mini I use only for the on-the-go recordings with MacBookPro)
So, once again : the issue with iMacs and MBox 2 series in my opinion is similar to the USB issue with MacBookPro and USB ports there. Most likely it has nothing to do with BlueTooth, or AirPort ( or combination of both).
The friend of mine who is a pro in computer binary systems says, that it is a combination of digital issue, and power supply efficiency for USB ports, while simultaneously utilizing multiple outputs on one computer.
I hope it helps !
Sincerely,
Chris7514
P.S. DIGI , I am expecting to see your professional comments regarding my post, regarding the issue I just discovered tonight with this particular setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:31 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris7514 View Post
P.S. DIGI , I am expecting to see your professional comments regarding my post, regarding the issue I just discovered tonight with this particular setup.
Very informative, although in this case you should ask apple to give professional comments on this.
If this is a broad issue with imacs, than this should be sticky!
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:50 AM
neilgod22 neilgod22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Chris

I would like to thank you for your efforts in shedding light on this topic. With help from users like yourself, we can get to the bottom of this issue.

Unfortunately, I tried your advice, and for me, it was unsuccessful. I accomplished exactly what I've been able to all along. I can start a new session. Once inside, I cannot record into the mbox 2 mini. The meters don't even read incoming signal.

When the mix nob is turned all the way to the left (analog), I can hear the output, but it won't record into pro tools. Once I quit, the window closes, but pro tools doesn't all the way. I have to force quit.

Once I do, I can no longer operate any programs on my computer (ichat, itunes, or even system preferences). Instead, I get the colorwheel. I then have to restart the mac to operate other software properly.

Also, I am still unable to open any previously created sessions.

I think your on to something though. We're going to figure this out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:51 AM
neilgod22 neilgod22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Sorry Digi, but my specs are:

7 inch imac i7
2.8 GHz quad-core
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
ATI Radeon HD 4850
1 TB internal
Digidesign-qualified G-technology, 7200 RPM external drive
snow leopard 10.6.2
64-bit kernal: NO
Bluetooth: on/off/and toggled back and forth
Pro Tools LE Mbox 2 mini 8.0.3
Trashed prefs and databases: YES
Repaired drive permissions: YES
Time machine disabled
OS Software: Updated (Apple>software update)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2010, 07:09 AM
Mixmst Mixmst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 2
Smile Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Thanks for that Chris. Spot on, I have had this problem since i bought my i5! Really appreciated! :)

Specs:
iMac i5 10.6.2
Mbox 2
Pro Tools LE 8 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Last edited by Mixmst; 03-01-2010 at 07:11 AM. Reason: add specs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:59 AM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Yeah... I will continue testing this system tonight after the gig.
Remember one simple fact : in the past both DIGI and Apple acknowledged the USB issue on MacBookPro in conjunction with MBox series. They officially recommended using the USB port next to the power supply input on MacBookPro. There was something wrong in the hardware part with the other USB port on MacBookPro. Some said that it was a faulty design, that resulted with unsufficient power supply flow to the connected USB device. I think that was the case.
In my opinion the problem with iMacs and MBox 2 series is also USB ports related.
It is NOT the AirPort, nor the BlueTooth. These applications have nothing to do with each other. The digital streams of binary data from PT application doesn't even "cross the path" there. These three applications are running separately, and independently from each other. The problem with iMacs and MBox 2 series is NOT software related. It's hardware related.
Digi and Apple should concentrate their efforts on zeroing in on USB power supply issue. Also remember that MBox 2 series uses an old USB 1.1. iMacs are all equipped with new USB 2.0. Points to ponder...
MBox 2 gets its entire power supply from the USB port on iMac. In case of the recording with 48V phantom power - that's even more "juice" needed !

I'm not criticizing DIGI nor Apple. Just trying to help to solve this bizzare problem, and zero in on an issue, that shouldn't have happened to so many on this forum to begin with. After all we are used to treating Apple and Digi as a good combination of equipment choice for professional audio applications.
I hope it stays like this in the years to come.
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2010, 11:54 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,836
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris7514 View Post
They officially recommended using the USB port next to the power supply input on MacBookPro. There was something wrong in the hardware part with the other USB port on MacBookPro. Some said that it was a faulty design, that resulted with unsufficient power supply flow to the connected USB device.
I guess I don't understand why you're expecting the USB buss to power the MBox... just because it can? I wouldn't even put that kind of current draw potential across firewire. If I've got a power supply available, I'd use it.

Did you try that in the 'bunk' USB port?
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2010, 06:27 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

That's the main thing with Mbox in general: it is entirely USB powered.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2010, 04:36 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

I've been using the "improper" USB port on the Macbook Pro for about 2 years now with no issues to speak of. Why is it a bad thing that the MBox is entirely USB powered? I like not having to plug in things unnecessarily.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:14 PM
Chris7514 Chris7514 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Problem solved ???Amazing discovery with MBox 2 series and iMac 27 inch i7. NEW !

Dism !
I personally love the USB powered MBox for the exactly same reason : no need for a wal-wart to power it up. On my MacBookPro only the USB outlet next to the power supply works perfectly well with MBox. The "improper" one crashes the system, freezes, causes "lost communication", or H/W buffer size errors type of issues etc. So, just like in case of MBox 2 mini and iMac i7 it's random behavior for ( probably) very deep hardware/software/binary reasons varying from unit to unit.
Chris7514
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Pro crashed Pro tools 11.1.2 - Solved problem bought new Mbox 3 ;) shamanrock Pro Tools 11 0 02-15-2014 03:36 PM
003 Rack,PT LE 8 and 27 inch imac ? rgriff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-25-2012 08:08 AM
iMac 27 inch - is it noisy? drguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-09-2010 04:43 AM
midiman midisport 2x2 and mbox, problem solved crossed over 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-31-2004 09:53 AM
imac 17 inch widescreen Graeme Oxby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-12-2002 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com