Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2011, 08:12 AM
ZZR1100 ZZR1100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Crete
Posts: 5
Default Upgrade question

Hello all

First post - I've searched for the answer first but I can't see it so here goes...

I've recently bought PT 8.0.5 LE with an Mbox 2 Mini. It doesn't have timecode/OMF features. DV toolkit is at least 400 GBP (as far as I can see).

However, Pro Tools 9 (crossgrade from LE) is on eBay for 120 GBP.

So I have 3 questions:

1) Will that crossgrade to PT9 work with what I've got?
2) Will all my existing plugins work with 9?
3) Is there any way I can keep both versions installed?

Thanks!
---

MacBook Pro 2.2 gHz, OS X 10.6.7
Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE
Mbox 2 Mini
1 tb Miglia DualDisk hard drive
PreSonus Faderport
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2011, 08:31 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Upgrade question

Yes, it will work with your Mbox mini.

As for your existing plugins, if they're the ones that came standard with Protools, they will simply be installed again when you install 9.

For third party plugins, you'll need to check each manufacturers website to see if there are any new updates for compatibility with PT9.

As for keeping both versions installed, you're really asking for trouble.

9 works great, I recommend doing a complete uninstall of 8 before installing 9.


And going for 9 is a better option, as it has the functionality of DV Toolkit built in, and there's no point in paying for a discontinued product (dv toolkit) unless you knew you were going to still be on 8 for quite a while.

However, there may be one advantage to getting the DV Toolkit, and that's the fact that you can then upgrade to Complete Production Toolkit 2 for only $299 U.S. If you were thinking about getting that eventually, then you might want to take advantage of that, which would give you surround mixing capability.

Regardless, though, I would still recommend upgrading to PT9.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2011, 10:25 AM
ZZR1100 ZZR1100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Crete
Posts: 5
Thumbs up Re: Upgrade question

That's what I call a comprehensive answer!
Thanks very much.
__________________
---------------------------------------

---------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Upgrade Question Rayvenx2208 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-24-2010 08:53 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM
Upgrade to 003 question Jamtime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-29-2007 02:42 PM
To upgrade, or not to upgrade? 'Tis the question.. knewbee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-07-2005 09:09 PM
to upgrade or not to upgrade, that is the question paul m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-06-2004 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com