Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 04:12 PM
Vytis Vytis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 247
Unhappy New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

Just bought a (new) iLok key from Digital Village South London store today (not online, from the store). Took it back home, tried to link it to my iLok.com account and all I got was this message:

iLok with serial number 0x000***** cannot be used because it's registered to another iLok.com account.

Uhm?

I then inspected the key more carefully and I noticed a couple of tiny stains on it and a few (minor) scratches. So I suppose they actually sold me an old key! CHEEKY!!!

Problem is, I will not have the time to back to the store for the next couple of weeks and I need it working as soon as possible.

Is there a way to simply format it? I emailed iLok.com but I'm still waiting for response... Do you think they might be able to help me out? I have the receipt / proof.

So frustrating... How could they!?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 04:39 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

Ilok deals with customer service in a very methodical way. It would surprise me if you get anywhere in a short period of time. The very nature of an ilok is to keep you out of it so I doubt a re-format by you is an option. Call the store.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:02 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,551
Default Re: New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

If it was me, I would call the place that sold it to me...and just rip right into them!!!

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:12 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

No, there's no way to reset this quickly. You should contact the dealer and ask that they replace it for you.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:30 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,660
Default Re: New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

"It would surprise me if you get anywhere in a short period of time."
Allow me to share my ONE experience with I-lok. Mine got broken (get a 6-inch USB extension cable NOW!!!) and I sent it to them overnight...they gave me a new one, overnighted it back to me, WITH authorizations uploaded, ready to go, AND the 6-inch USB cable. Total cost to me was $18 for shipping. Period. Total down time was not even two days.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2009, 01:09 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: New iLok from Digital Village is already registered to another iLok.com account!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
"It would surprise me if you get anywhere in a short period of time."
Allow me to share my ONE experience with I-lok. Mine got broken (get a 6-inch USB extension cable NOW!!!) and I sent it to them overnight...they gave me a new one, overnighted it back to me, WITH authorizations uploaded, ready to go, AND the 6-inch USB cable. Total cost to me was $18 for shipping. Period. Total down time was not even two days.

Glad to hear that went so well for you. The problem that vytis is facing is the ilok is registered to someone else. By the time they sort that out and with the weekend coming and having to do this from London, he may not be so fortunate. But I am glad to hear something positive about ilok support.

And you are absolutely right about the ilok extension cable.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot remove my iLok from an account with iLok License Manager roberts macOS 6 06-10-2013 02:28 PM
Accidentally registered pro tools 10 upgrade to wrong ilok account [solved] almix12 Pro Tools 10 8 02-25-2013 03:09 PM
can I re-register older ilok into new ilok account? drguitar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-18-2008 11:04 AM
iLok License not found (TL) - visible on iLok.com account LiamSlack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-17-2008 11:02 AM
Registering Mpowered ILOK to ilok account? Matt Whritenour Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-22-2006 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com