Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2020, 04:58 PM
Lorenzo137 Lorenzo137 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Encinitas USA
Posts: 11
Default export mp3?

I'm new with Pro Tools and am running 2019.6.0 on a MacBook Pro, 16GB memory, macOS Mojave (10.14.6). Is there a way to export a project to an MP3 file? I can't find any information on how to do it. Export / Audio Mix opens a dialog with a File Type selection that only has WAV or AIFF as choices. I am very surprised that there is not an MP3 option. Is there some setting I am missing that would activate an MP3 choice?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2020, 07:25 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: export mp3?

There are still aspects of legitimate MP3 encoders that require licensing. Licensing costs money. Why would Avid pay money for an accessory to put in a free product?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2020, 01:37 PM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Default Re: export mp3?

Licensing, ownership, and legislation
The basic MP3 decoding and encoding technology is patent-free in the European Union, all patents having expired there by 2012 at the latest. In the United States, the technology became substantially patent-free on 16 April 2017 (see below). MP3 patents expired in the US between 2007 and 2017.
(Taken from Wikipedia 5.2.2020 / 22.35 CET)

Since it is free about at least 3 years why not put it in a free Pro Tools First?

Stay healthy and safe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2020, 05:30 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: export mp3?

Free is not free.

Pro Tools is proprietary. The tools they choose to implement within it must also be proprietary. Proprietary is never free regardless of the status of a patent.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2020, 09:42 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: export mp3?

Just bounce a wav and convert it with a 3rd party like Audacity:
https://www.audacityteam.org/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2020, 11:13 PM
PatJo PatJo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 78
Default Re: export mp3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Just bounce a wav and convert it with a 3rd party like Audacity:
https://www.audacityteam.org/

That’s exactly what I do!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2020, 05:10 PM
Lorenzo137 Lorenzo137 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Encinitas USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: export mp3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Pro Tools is proprietary. The tools they choose to implement within it must also be proprietary.
So, Avid chose to implement WAV and AIFF, but not MP3? Just curious about the choice, but I lose interest if the explanation gets into some business decision. As I said, I am new to Pro Tools, I am liking it a lot, and I have found my workaround: I came from Garageband, so I just import a 16-bit AIFF into it to export my MP3. Kinda like the Audacity folks.

Last edited by Lorenzo137; 05-08-2020 at 05:12 PM. Reason: added thought
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2020, 06:02 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,924
Default Re: export mp3?

MP3 is a compressed format. If a piece of software only allowed MP3 export and not WAV/AIFF I’d be running as fast as I could.

I don’t disagree with you that MP3 should be included, but it should NOT be in place of WAV/AIFF.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2020, 08:47 PM
zwolf zwolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 25
Default Re: export mp3?

What am I missing here? I export mp3s all the time!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2020, 09:53 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,924
Default Re: export mp3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zwolf View Post
What am I missing here? I export mp3s all the time!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Are you using PTF or regular PT?

That’s probably what you’re missing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp3 export doesn't show correct file size til another export done obidon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-09-2010 01:13 PM
Export MIDI produces corrupted data. Unable to export MIDI ! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-01-2007 07:18 PM
Export to mp3? Protools Newbie Tips & Tricks 5 07-25-2006 02:00 PM
I need help with mp3 export Gilley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2005 10:11 AM
5.3 LE XP export to 5.0 TDM mac kCmCg Tips & Tricks 2 12-06-2002 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com