Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2001, 06:15 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: New Hard Drive

I have the 30GB Western Digital, works great. Both of the above have 2MB cache, both have around 9ms access time. I would go with the one with the lowest price; which will probably be Western Digital.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2001, 07:17 PM
slinky slinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 255
Default Re: New Hard Drive

hell no....don't ever get a maxtor or western analog...IBM or seagate always.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2001, 12:00 AM
Axeslinger Axeslinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 32
Default New Hard Drive

Im gonna buy my second HD for my G4 (audio dedicated drive)....im looking at either a maxtor or western digital 40 gig 7200 rpm...any suggestions as to which one and experiences youve had with both brands?? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2001, 09:47 AM
David Johansen David Johansen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: fredrikstad
Posts: 11
Default Re: New Hard Drive

Dont get a maxtor or a western . I ´v heard people got a lot of trouble using these on Mac´s . They work on pc .
Get a IBM nothing else !!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2001, 09:58 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: New Hard Drive

Well, I guess different people, different experiences...

I have a Maxtor 28GB drive which has worked flawlessly for over a year.

------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2001, 10:32 AM
evandaum evandaum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 395
Default Re: New Hard Drive

I have 2 Maxtor 40GBs that have served me well. I have had several very bad experiences with Western Digital drives though, so I'd stay clear of them if possible. IBMs are great, and you get what you pay for with Seagate.

-Evan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2001, 04:40 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: New Hard Drive

Western Digital doesn't work well with Macs? My G4 came with a stock Western Digital.

Seagates are nice, but check the buffer size before ordering. My Western has 2MB cache. The Seagate only had 512K, and was a lot more money.

Statistically, there were reports that showed IDE drives being more reliable than SCSI. This is in part because of the huge quantity produced, the percentage of failure is slightly less. If your drive works for the first week, there is a very small chance of problems in the future; no matter which one you choose.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2001, 04:45 PM
Axeslinger Axeslinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 32
Default Re: New Hard Drive

Thanks for the help guys but unfortunately my plans will be on delay currently ...my dual 450 g4 seems to have the power switch problem that was real common a few months back and it doesnt even start up at all!! I took it to my closest service center for repair...hopefully i will have it back soon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2001, 06:42 PM
mustafatron mustafatron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: tulsa,ok,usa
Posts: 64
Default Re: New Hard Drive

the cache size of a hard drive does not matter at all for daw use. go for the most data throughput ata 100's. ibm and seagate are great hard drives, when it comes down to it with eide just go for the most gigs you can get for the money..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2001, 09:00 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: New Hard Drive

The current Apple G4s are only ATA 66. Getting ATA 100 will not make a difference. Throughput doesn't matter either. On an ATTO card, it is actually required to lower the sync and burst rate to slow down the drives.

The important thing is access time, as the drive needs to grab a little bit of each audio file as the recording streams. Most IDE drives are about 9ms. Seagates are a litle less, but I think they just push their claims.

As far as a memory buffer, I think it is best to get a fair amount. SCSI A/V drives are the same as regular SCSI drives except that they have more memory. I believe this helps for a steady stream in the event of OS inefficiency.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE can't get audio from hard drive fast enough, hard drive may be fragmented, there huncke Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 02-23-2010 02:06 PM
Valid Audio Drive (hard drive issue) MacPro / HD3 owenpop Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-11-2008 12:28 PM
Partition Hard Drive? Clean out G$ hard drive? ike805 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-23-2006 10:23 PM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-19-2002 11:26 PM
Hard Drive Performance Dual Processors and Dedicated Audio Drive j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-03-2000 05:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com