Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:10 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,374
Default 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

I've installed the 9.0.2 update 4 times now and I'm getting the same problem(s) each time. Everything seems ok booting up with a steady green Host light until it gets to "Initializing Controllers". At that point my 003 Rack+ cycles through the startup routine and the Host light blinks. I get this message:

Could not create a new document because Assertion in
"f:\code\ws.protools_9.0.x\alturaports\dfw\views\u menu.win32.cpp, line 1142.

I hit OK and get the infamous "Pro Tools cannot communicate with 003". I hit OK again, go to Hardware and the 003 Rack is showing under Peripherals, but I cant' select a clock source or Sample Rate. When I click out of Hardware, I get:

The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1 kHz.

Then if I go to Playback Engine, I get:

DAE error -6001 was encountered.

I have uninstalled the old drivers and installed the new ones (before installing the update) but it happens with both drivers. I've run the update from fresh installs of 9.0 and 9.0.1 and get the same thing.

The only way around this I've found is by installing ASIO4ALL, holding N during boot, and selecting the ASIO driver. Then once PT finishes loading (with no errors), I can open a session and changed the interface back to the 003 in the Playback Engine, and it seems to work. I shouldn't have to do this every time though as I've never had to before.

So what's the deal with 9.0.2?? Looks like there should have been some Beta testing to iron out the bugs before it was released. This sucks!

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Workgroup :
Host Name :
User :

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
Speed : 4GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) Fj8 08/02/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 3.6GHz (7.2GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 3.6GHz (7.2GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1.6GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 (Microsoft Corporation WDDM 1.1) (320 SM4.1, 512MB DDR3 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 (Microsoft Corporation WDDM 1.1) (320 SM4.1, 512MB DDR3 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST3500320AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 466GB (C:)
Seagate ST31500341AS (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 1TB (E:)
Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (D:)
EPSON Storage (USB) : N/A (H:)
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache) : N/A (F:)
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache) : N/A (G:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500320AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Backup (E:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31500341AS (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Sessions (D:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ EPSON Storage (USB)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : Hightech Information System RV730XT Audio device [Radeon HD 4670]
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : EPSON Artisan 710 Series (360x360, USB, Colour)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Hewlett-Packard HP Scanjet G3010 (Scanner, 9600x9600, USB)

Peripherals
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20) (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5

Last edited by cwsand; 03-10-2011 at 12:17 AM. Reason: Felt like it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2011, 03:57 AM
mblanton66 mblanton66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 216
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

Under Programs and Features, does the version of "Avid 002 Rack and 003 Rack Driver (x64)" in fact show as 9.0.2?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2011, 04:41 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,374
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

Quote:
Originally Posted by mblanton66 View Post
Under Programs and Features, does the version of "Avid 002 Rack and 003 Rack Driver (x64)" in fact show as 9.0.2?
Yes it does.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:05 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,734
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

When installing, did you make sure to keep the 003 turned off or disconnected when installing the new drivers?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2011, 01:05 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,374
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
When installing, did you make sure to keep the 003 turned off or disconnected when installing the new drivers?
Yes I did. I just tried this again:

Uninstalled device and deleted drivers from Device Manager,
Uninstalled drivers from Programs and features,
Shutdown W7 and 003
Rebooted and installed new drivers
Shutdown W7, powered on 003 and rebooted
Launched PT 9.0.2 - same thing as before.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2011, 11:55 PM
Dingo90 Dingo90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 22
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

I am getting the same problem as CWsand.

gonna reinstall 9.01... sigh...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2011, 12:10 AM
Dingo90 Dingo90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 22
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

Quote:
Originally Posted by mblanton66 View Post
Under Programs and Features, does the version of "Avid 002 Rack and 003 Rack Driver (x64)" in fact show as 9.0.2?
My driver actually only shows it as 9.0, how do I get it to update to 9.0.2?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2011, 12:50 AM
Dingo90 Dingo90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: LOS ANGELES
Posts: 22
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

finally got it working by:

1. uninstall PT
2. install PT 9.0
3. install 9.01 patch
4. install new 003 rack driver
5. install 9.02 patch.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2011, 03:00 AM
jntracks jntracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 245
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

as i posted in this thread

i got these same errors until i pluged my 002 into the FW port on my motherboard (VIA chipset) instead of my texas instruments PCI card (the one i got specifically cause it was certified to work with the 002 back in 6.4)

all seems to be working now.
__________________
-j

www.jntracks.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2011, 08:25 AM
DStinnAudio DStinnAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Reston, Va
Posts: 10
Default Re: 9.0.2 Not Communicating With 003 Rack+

I had the same exact problem.... I just updated the firmware for the 003 rack....

Waiting....

It seems to run fine with the updated driver and firmware update. Maybe pt9.0.2 will not crash so much opening pt7 sessions with plug-ins I no longer have....

Spoke too soon... Sessions I just opened yesterday freeze the bonkers out my sh$$. Dammit son.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sync hd...not communicating Flyingonempty Windows 0 03-06-2014 08:43 AM
888/24 and MIX Farm not communicating audio[LAB] Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-24-2008 12:03 PM
software not communicating with m box HAIRCUTS91 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-22-2006 05:31 AM
6.1 LE not communicating with 02 hutt1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-27-2004 05:34 PM
My Digi isn't communicating with my Mac??? adamjames 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-05-2003 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com