Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2019, 10:16 PM
richists richists is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Default CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Hello, I'm getting the (in)famous error -6101:

A CPU error occurred. If this happens often, try increasing the "H/W Buffer Size” in the Playback Engine Dialog, or removing some plug-ins. (AAE -6101)

It happens even in an empty session without any plug-ins. It happens on all "H/W Buffer Size" settings. It happens with many plug-ins and it happens: Always!
I've already switched to Reaper for big Sound Design projects (I have to admit: A DAW with a fantastic performance and awesome tools) but as I'm working "in the media industry" I rely on Pro Tools for most of my projects.

I know that it's a very well known error (alongside "Video Engine is not able to stop" errors) but I still haven't found any solution. It's really annoying.

So if someone found A SIMPLE way to get rid of the -6101 please post here.

iMac late 2013 (refurbished in 2016), 2,7GHz i5 16GB RAM and MacBook mid2014 3GHz i7. Both on MacOS 10.13.6 and Pro Tools 2018.12.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2019, 05:25 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 446
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

I have a 2015 MBP with the same configuration and disabling hyperthreading has fixed this issue for me.

Although, I do think the issue is graphics related. Any plugins that rely heavily on the GPU will cause this error. Ie. Izoptope Insight.

I recommend cleaning up your system as best you can, do a clean install of PT, and disable Hyperthreading and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2019, 01:01 PM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 313
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Things to try:

-trash preferences
-put all plugins in the unused folder to see if a plugin is causing it
-try hyper thread off (like said above)
-try turbo boost off
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Catalina 10.15 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2020.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2019, 12:53 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 285
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Also, go to Setup/Playback Engine and uncheck "Ignore Errors During Playback" and also uncheck "Dynamic Plug-In Processing".

In the same dialog box set your Disk Playback cache size to a number, like 2 or 3GB. Just not "Normal".
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2019, 04:46 PM
jdk11211 jdk11211 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brooklyn,NY/Los Angeles,CA
Posts: 23
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Having same problem with NO plugins, single track of audio! And I'm on a 2.7 GHZ, 12 core Mac Pro with 64GB RAM, so it's kind of maddening to see my system crippled with NOTHING in the session. (Happens when loaded up too, with about the same frequency, so it does not seem actually CPU buffer related).

I tried: unchecking errors during playback, dynamic plug in processing, various disk playback cache settings (all these caused more frequent errors)
Also trashed prefs.

No graphics stuff running.

Will investigate hyperthreading but...Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2020, 01:14 PM
petreestow petreestow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Have you had any luck with fixing this issue? I am having it as well
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:53 AM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 34
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Try to disable Hyperthreading with the App CPUSetter. Magic happened to my Mac. No more Overloads and lower latency settings possible.

Greetings from Germany
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2020, 02:25 PM
cnad88 cnad88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 2
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Having the same issue and pulling my hair out trying to fix it. Just upgraded to 2020.3 and still happening, even with minimal audio and no plugins. Whether I'm connected to my interface or using built-in i/o. Would like to try turning off hyperthreading and/or turbo boost but it looks like I need to update my operating system to use any of the apps that allow me to do that... this whole situation has been very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2020, 02:34 PM
cnad88 cnad88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 2
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

ok update: downloaded CPUsetter and disabled hyperthreading and got the error even faster than before. Can't get more than a couple seconds without an overload. I guess turbo boost is the last thing to try? Really at my wits end here.
richists did you get it fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2020, 05:38 PM
petreestow petreestow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Re: CPU Overload in 2018.12 -6101

Please keep us updated!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Overload 6101 Serapis Pro Tools 12 9 04-07-2020 01:19 PM
cpu overload (AAE-6101) yair.raha Pro Tools 11 2 12-24-2015 09:55 AM
CPU Overload (6101) foxdog175 macOS 17 10-26-2012 10:18 AM
CPU Overload 6101 TB12 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 01-02-2011 10:29 AM
-6101 CPU overload bad_ben 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2007 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com