Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2001, 09:55 PM
bruce001 bruce001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 2
Default the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

I've seen two sides of opinion about this...really hopin' to get something hardcore from someone or digi...Will the 5400 drive cut it as a system and application drive when
using a 7200 for audio files and sessions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2001, 10:29 PM
jimmyk jimmyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Chicago
Posts: 227
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2001, 10:59 AM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

I use this configuration, works fine. The boot drive just loads OS and app into RAM any way. Make sure you have enough RAM and dedicate enough to the Pro Tools and DAE applications.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2001, 03:11 PM
onemanband onemanband is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 257
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

G-3 350 with 5400 system drive and 7200 audio drive. Works fine.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2001, 03:21 PM
ThomCat ThomCat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Phoenix,az,USA
Posts: 475
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

It might be a matter of how many simultaneous tracks you would like. I have read threads on the DUC that claim that a 5400 system drive will slow the IDE bus even for a 7200 audio drive on the same bus. On it's surface this doesn't make a lot of sense, but if you're superstitious like me you'd likely take that into account when making an informed decision.

Not being one to tempt fate, I bought a G4 with a 7200 system drive. It too works fine.

Any experts out there that can verify this rumor?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2001, 04:25 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

I don't buy that, the bus speed is still ATA66. The OS / app data sits in RAM any way.

It always comes down to the bottleneck, are you crashing your drives? if not, don't worry.

If you are crashing, a second 7200 RPM "sessions / audio" drive can take half the tracks. If it still crashes, it may be the 5400 RPM drive (you then would own a 7200 RPM drive to try). I doubt very much this would happen.

Just don't split tracks to the boot drive (which you shouldn't do any way).

PS- Has anyone put a 3rd IDE drive under their DVD player? Any advice?

[This message has been edited by Gulliver (edited January 08, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2001, 05:00 PM
WestPhillySoulzition WestPhillySoulzition is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Philly, PA, US
Posts: 702
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

I have a system drive 7200 and another ata 5400, I had reinstalled my PT on my 5400 to get the effects again and when I did this and started recording, it sounded that this gave the recording a really digital sound (tiny). This could have just been me being dellusional, but it had never sounded this way before. I now have my PT on the 7200 and havent thought about it since. However, this really did not make sense to me because there is no real reason why this should be so. All of the Audio to digital conversion is done before the software even gets the data, but it is possible the software cannot bus it to the audio hard drive fast enough with the lower resolution rate of the slower hard drive.


------------------
Switchcraft
__________________
www.Subglo.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2001, 05:01 PM
Michael Cottrell Michael Cottrell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 518
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

In my humble experience...Have tried doing multi-tracks on ATA drives. It was not reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2001, 03:27 AM
nuke nuke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 276
Default Re: the stock 540Orpm harddrive in G4

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by bruce001:
I've seen two sides of opinion about this...really hopin' to get something hardcore from someone or digi...Will the 5400 drive cut it as a system and application drive when
using a 7200 for audio files and sessions?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, it works fine.

Anyone who says it will "slow down" the faster drive is incorrect. I can prove it and I know how it works in the G4 better than anyone on the planet.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 (stock) vs. 002 BLA xodiac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 12-15-2007 03:11 PM
DVD-R STOCK soundezign Post - Surround - Video 8 12-11-2006 03:48 PM
6.1.1 Out of Stock? Bazzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-17-2004 07:28 AM
6.1 out of stock :) mixerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-05-2003 09:48 PM
002 in Stock? datacult 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-13-2003 07:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com