Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2018, 12:20 PM
iworkforaschool iworkforaschool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7
Default S3L Virtual Soundcheck issue

I'm having some trouble with our S3L and virtual soundcheck. Right now, our console is on Venue 4.5.2. My computer is a 2015 macbook pro running Sierra. I; currently on Pro Tools 12.5.
About two weeks ago, I was able to connect to my Mac using the B port on the S3, and Pro Tools worked great. Nothing has changed and it just stopped working.

Then two weeks go by and I plug in using the same cable and port, and Pro Tools just freezes without letting me do anything. I've tried everything I can think of as far as trouble shooting: New cat5 cable, different port on my Mac, different thunderbolt adapter, rebooting computer and the S3L, all that. Now the S3L doesn't even recognize my Mac as an external device on the Devices tab. I did not update my console or my Mac.

When I press play in Pro Tools, The stop button stays blue and the play button just flashed. Wait for MIDI note is not selected. My S3L is in Virtual soundcheck mode as well. I've also tried different Pro Tools sessions and that hasn't helped either.

I have noticed that in the Pro Tools peripherals menu, it says the Venue system is "inactive". Venue Link is enabled, but it says it's not connected.

Any ideas? Do I just need need to update my S3L to 4.6? You think that would solve my problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2018, 06:20 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 230
Default Re: S3L Virtual Soundcheck issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by iworkforaschool View Post
Any ideas? Do I just need need to update my S3L to 4.6? You think that would solve my problem?
1. Sierra is not supported at the moment.
2. Updating to 4.6.1 likely won't solve your issue, but you still should update.
3. One-time quick check: try updating Engine I/O firmware (Options->Devices, Ctrl+right-click on Engine and choose "Update I/.O Firmware"). However it likely won't help.
3. If I were you, I would start with wiping Mac and reinstalling Mac OS. This would give me a clean Mac/PT side, which is IMHO the primary suspect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2018, 08:16 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 456
Default Re: S3L Virtual Soundcheck issue

And ALWAYS check with Avid for OS compatibility before making a computer purchase or OS update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue klyphskinner VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-03-2016 01:16 AM
S6L x 2 and PT Virtual Soundcheck... benkrumholz VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-29-2016 12:42 PM
S6L Virtual Soundcheck pistonsvox VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 02-20-2016 05:24 AM
SC48 Virtual soundcheck Sidhu VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 04-22-2010 12:43 PM
Virtual soundcheck tom42107 VENUE Live Sound Systems 13 01-07-2009 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com