Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2009, 01:24 AM
maccattack maccattack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 52
Default Is it safe for me to upgrade?

Im keen to upgrade to 8 but am a bit dubious.

My set up is

iMac
Intel Core 2 Duo
2.16 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB


Im currently running on OSX 10.5.4 and know I wuld need to update to the latest version 10.5.7

I have PTLE 7.4.2

Has anyone had the same set up as me and upgraded successfully?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:55 AM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Re: Is it safe for me to upgrade?

I'd definately go for it if I were you. I have a similar set up to your own - my iMac's only a 2GHz Core 2 Duo. I upgraded to PT 8 a few months back. Honestly, it a huge improvement. No comparison to 7.4 (which was the 1st DAW I ever used - I'm a relative newbie to home recording).

I also upgraded to 10.5.7 with no issues. Only thing I noticed was that I had to re-authorise my IK plug-ins for some reason.

But seriously, version 8 is super. The upgrade cost me about €125 here in Ireland, but it's well worth it for Xpand2 & Boom alone IMO. Combined with the other VIs, plus the improved midi workflow & a much better look & feel all round, I think it's a great update.

I just noticed you only have 2Gb RMA... I'd highly recommend upping that to 4Gb... save yourself the future heartache
... just don't get it from Apple.com, they're way too expensive. Ebay is your friend - that's where I got mine & it was 1/3 the Apple list price (and that was from a real bricks & mortar store too)
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX

Last edited by zv yoda; 06-12-2009 at 02:58 AM. Reason: Added comment about RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it safe to upgrade to 10.5??? blkdog7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-07-2008 12:14 AM
Safe to upgrade to 10.3.7 when using 6.4 LE on G5? Brennen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-29-2004 06:20 PM
Safe to upgrade to 6,4? thenewnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-28-2004 02:32 PM
Is it safe to upgrade to 6.2.3? Capi Baigorria 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-05-2004 01:59 AM
OT: safe CPU upgrade bickele 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-15-2003 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com