Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Old 05-15-2020, 07:15 AM

Default Popping and Crackling - the next thread ...

I know, we certainly all have already read and spoken about all the reasons already why this can happen several times in several spots and places, and apart from the fact, that I work as an engineer now over more than a decade, I know that new reasons can occure, I am not aware of.

We sadly have the requirement here to run some 96khz/24bit sessions for score and there is only one NI Kontakt instance open and Pro Tools pops and crackles like hell when I am in recording mode (what means small buffer size).

Of course small buffer means more issues, but this much is far too much for this power machine here with 32 GB Ram (EDIT: 64 GB Ram), upper class Intel processor, SSDs etc. Any ideas what can help apart from what we all knwo and try mostly first including trashing preferences, removing background tasks (which IMHO is pointless in this maching) etc ?

Would love to hear some NEW ideas. It is impossible to record under this circumstances.

--
Windows 10 Pro x64 with Intel Xeon CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz, 10/20 Core(s) - 64 GB Ram - Most hard drives SSD - AVID Pro Tools (Native) - AVID Media Composer - AVID Eucon artist series

Last edited by dgdsu; 05-15-2020 at 10:02 PM. Reason: spec update
Old 05-15-2020, 08:34 AM

Default Re: Popping and Crackling - the next thread ...

HDX or Native?
Is the crackling going to be better if you increase the buffer size?
Is it just with 96khz sessions?
Sync problems?
Old 05-15-2020, 08:48 AM

Some things to consider: