Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2003, 11:54 AM
beggehorn beggehorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA
Posts: 455
Default Anyone else get Assertion Errors?

I've been recently plagued with "assertion errors" on certain sessions (three or four now) when I try to compact the audio files for those sessions. When they occur, the system freezes and I am forced to restart. I realize that this is usually caused by corrupt audio files. The only solution I've found is to create a new session, import each track from the bad session (one by one) and compact the audio until I find the track with the corruption. I then route and re-record the audio to a new track (duplicating, or consolidating does not work). The sessions this problem is occurring in are sessions I started in PT 5.x (don't know if thats a factor or not). I do know that this problem started after upgrading to PT 6.1 which I'm currently running on WinXP with an HD2 system.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64
Avid HDX running PTHD 2018.x (latest)
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Intel i7 Core 920
12 GB RAM
Matrox M9140
Avid Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2003, 09:24 AM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Anyone else get Assertion Errors?

John,

Has this been resolved yet? I'm considering the upgrade, but not if I will have to spend hours reconstructing every session I have.
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2003, 12:12 PM
beggehorn beggehorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA
Posts: 455
Default Re: Anyone else get Assertion Errors?

Hi Steve,

I'm still unsure what's causing these errors. I called Digi last time it happened and they just told me it was caused by corrupt audio files and suggested a few ways to work around it. Fortunately all the tracks have always played back just fine. The error only occurs when trying to compact. I'm thinking it is the metadata of the older session's audio files, though it doesn't happen to all files. The last session it happened to had 4 or 5 bad tracks. I'm not sure if it was a single region on those tracks or maybe more. For each bad track, I just opened a new track and bounced it over as a new single file and it fixed the problem. A bit unnerving and time consuming to say the least.

Ben
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64
Avid HDX running PTHD 2018.x (latest)
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Intel i7 Core 920
12 GB RAM
Matrox M9140
Avid Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2003, 03:31 PM
steve at Your Heaven steve at Your Heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 657
Default Re: Anyone else get Assertion Errors?

Thanks - at least the workaround sounds simple, I think I can live with that (I'll mostly avoid compacting).
__________________
steve
Your Heaven
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2003, 12:53 AM
beggehorn beggehorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA
Posts: 455
Default Re: Anyone else get Assertion Errors?

I just fixed the last session that had this problem. There were two tracks with corrupted files, and those tracks had just been recorded within the last two weeks or so. Hmmmm...I guess its not a PT5.X to PT6.X session conversion issue...
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64
Avid HDX running PTHD 2018.x (latest)
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Intel i7 Core 920
12 GB RAM
Matrox M9140
Avid Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
assertion errors how to fix garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-10-2013 06:13 PM
assertion errors that aren't going away dobatron81 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-20-2009 07:09 PM
Assertion errors? DarthFader777 Post - Surround - Video 10 02-17-2009 11:18 AM
neo assertion errors help rboos4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 07-29-2008 10:02 AM
Assertion Errors? Chaka015 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-26-2007 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com