Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2019, 02:54 PM
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I've been putting the new engine through its paces the past couple days and noticed some weird behavior I hadn't seen with the old engine.
Sometimes when I hit stop and play the video plays back in a random loop while the playhead continues through the session normally.
I haven't yet been able to pinpoint a certain trigger for that, but it happens with newly build sessions in 2019.10 as well as with older sessions.
My video files are always ProRes 422 (Proxy), nothing in my setup changed except for the upgraded PT install. Same drives playback the same files in the same sessions.
Never had this issue before.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:03 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,131
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
I've been putting the new engine through its paces the past couple days and noticed some weird behavior I hadn't seen with the old engine.
Sometimes when I hit stop and play the video plays back in a random loop while the playhead continues through the session normally.
I haven't yet been able to pinpoint a certain trigger for that, but it happens with newly build sessions in 2019.10 as well as with older sessions.
My video files are always ProRes 422 (Proxy), nothing in my setup changed except for the upgraded PT install. Same drives playback the same files in the same sessions.
Never had this issue before.
I also use ProRes proxy (with an AJA T-Tap) and saw this last night, but it was while I was toggling the Weiss plug-in pref for OpenGL graphics. As soon as I said yes to OpenGL and rebooted, all was good. Or maybe this was coincidence.

Video has been fine for me today.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:09 PM
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Interesting. I'm using the Weiss-Deesser in most of my sessions.
Just checked the OpenGL setting and it has been ticked already, so I guess that's not it, as it just happened again.
It's not that big a deal since toggling the video offline/online always solves it for me. But should still be worth a fix.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:17 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 669
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I noticed an odd loop today with 2019.10. Playing the last minute of a 45 min show and expected to see the credit roll and got a loop of about 5 secs from video that had already been played. Pro Res proxy file type. 25 fps.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2019, 07:53 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,433
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Haven't seen this here but all our picture is DNxHD36. And no Weiss plugins installed.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2019, 09:25 AM
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I just had it that instead of looping the video freeze framed.

Still haven't figured out, when it does it, but it happens several times a day.
I have a feeling it occurs when hitting play while PT is still busy with another task. I'm very quick when it comes to editing. For instance cutting the end of a clip, creating a fade out and hitting play basically is one action. A quick burst of key commands. Seems those playback issues always happen in one of those instances. But then again I could be totally wrong, it's just a hunch.

Will report back when I figure anything out.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2019, 02:11 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 597
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Hi
Had the same problems the last days.

Today I had no errors working in a new session from my template.
Means the same plugins are in the session.
The only differnce is that I have this time much less audiosuite plugs open. They are getting more and more as I work.

Did not find the reason till now but I think audiosuite has some impact to the video engine. Doing audiosuite does trigger video problems (black/no video)

Switching video offline/online makes video running again.
Video is always dnxhd36
__________________
3x PT HD Ultimate 2019.6/10 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.12.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2019.6 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002


www.tonstudio-gress.de

www.facebook.com/TonstudioGress
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2019, 11:22 AM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 262
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I had black video window, or 1 frame still video in 2019.10 on my Mac mini which I use as a video satellite machine with Vanilla Protools. Tried most common stuff (delete prefs etc), but no result.

Downgraded back to 2019.6, and everything fine again..
It beats me what's wrong with the AVE in my case...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2019, 01:49 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,244
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
I've been putting the new engine through its paces the past couple days and noticed some weird behavior I hadn't seen with the old engine.
Sometimes when I hit stop and play the video plays back in a random loop while the playhead continues through the session normally.
I haven't yet been able to pinpoint a certain trigger for that, but it happens with newly build sessions in 2019.10 as well as with older sessions.
My video files are always ProRes 422 (Proxy), nothing in my setup changed except for the upgraded PT install. Same drives playback the same files in the same sessions.
Never had this issue before.
Same here DNXHD36 mxf video.
Only when I upgraded to 2019.10
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2019, 03:04 PM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 83
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Same here DNXHD36 mxf video.

Only when I upgraded to 2019.10
Does QuickTime DnxHD36? Mixing a smaller TV 90 Minute feature here and it's ok.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 9 12-08-2019 11:37 PM
Problem enabling video engine 2019.6 Lydbildet Windows 11 08-31-2019 02:22 AM
PT 2019 same video problems garnoil Pro Tools 2019 12 05-12-2019 04:50 PM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 02:22 AM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com